انتقل إلى المحتوى

استكشاف الممر الداخلي

من الشمال إلى ألاسكا

الشمال إلى ألاسكا

السفر عبر الممر الداخلي أمر ينذر بالسوء ، ويبدأ كل شيء في بيلينجهام ، واشنطن. وصلنا إلى هذه المدينة الصغيرة ذات المناظر الخلابة قبل أن تبدأ رحلتنا. أثناء وجودنا في هذا الملاذ الممتع ، قررنا القيام ببعض الصيد والاستمتاع بالمناظر الرائعة. في بيلينجهام ، نجد ثقافة مليئة بالتجارب المذهلة مع العديد من الأشياء التي يمكنك القيام بها في الهواء الطلق الرائع. إنها ليست فقط البوابة إلى الممر الداخلي وولاية ألاسكا العظيمة ، ولكنها جوهرة ترفيهية في حد ذاتها.

صيد السمك

صيد السلطعون الحلو Dungeness

أثناء تحضير سفينتك ، حان الوقت المثالي لاكتشاف مدينة بيلينجهام المضيفة ، واشنطن. أثناء تجولك في الأرصفة ، تأكد من تجربة مهاراتك في جلب أفضل وأحلى سلطعون Dungeness في العالم. الصيد ممتع! اليوم رائع! السلطعون لذيذ!

بيلنغهام ، واشنطن هي أكثر من مجرد بوابة إلى الممر الداخلي. تعد بلدة الصيد الجذابة هذه ملاذًا ممتعًا مليئًا بالمتاجر المبهجة ومسارات الطبيعة والمناظر الطبيعية الرائعة. تتمتع مدينة بيلينجهام بثقافة رائعة من الاستجمام في الهواء الطلق مع إقامة جيدة ومطاعم رائعة والعديد من الأشياء التي يمكنك القيام بها. لماذا لا يأتي اليوم المقبل؟ اقض الليلة واليوم قبل مغادرتك في واحدة من أروع المدن الشاطئية في واشنطن.

في طريقنا

عندما نبدأ رحلتنا الرائعة عبر الممر الداخلي ، نترك واشنطن أيضًا وراءنا ودخلنا الممرات المائية الساحلية. تأخذنا بضع ساعات إلى كولومبيا البريطانية وكندا والبحر الساليش الأزرق العميق. بحر ساليش عبارة عن متاهة ساحلية من الممرات المائية تبدأ في الجزء الشمالي الغربي من ولاية واشنطن وتصل إلى أقصى الشمال حتى الطرف الجنوبي من الجزء الجنوبي الغربي من كندا. تقع بين مجاريها المائية العديد من المسطحات المائية الرئيسية. سوف تمر عبر الجزء الشمالي من بوجيه ساوند ، وإلى الغرب هو مستقيم خوان دي فوكا. أثناء سفرك شمالًا سترى مضيق جورجيا. لأميال وأميال ، سترى بعضًا من المياه الأكثر زرقة والجبال الرائعة والمناظر الطبيعية المذهلة.

كيتشكان

الشعور بالأمان في بحر ساليش

يعد بحر ساليش المذهل موطنًا ساحليًا للعديد من قبائل ساليش التي تعيش في كل من واشنطن ، الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية ، وكولومبيا البريطانية ، كندا. الممرات المائية الهادئة لبحر ساليش هي طرق تجارية مهمة لساحل ساليش. كما أنها تظل مصدرًا رئيسيًا للغذاء والموارد الأخرى. هذا الممر المائي هو موطن للعديد من الشعوب الأصلية بما في ذلك ساحل ساليش ، شمال واكاشان ، كواكواكاواكو ، واكاشان الجنوبية.

إذا كنت متيقظًا أثناء سفرك ، فمن الممكن أن ترى أيًا من أنواع الأسماك البالغ عددها 253 نوعًا التي تمت ملاحظتها داخل بحر ساليش. عند السفر بالقرب من الشاطئ ، من الممكن رؤية حيوانات أكبر على الشاطئ بالقرب من أي من قرى الصيد الصغيرة عند دخول موانئها.

جونستون مستقيم

جونستون ستريت

مع استمرار مغامرتك شمالًا في الممر الداخلي ، من المرجح أن تقضي أمسية ممتعة أو يومًا ممتعًا على Johnstone مباشرة في كولومبيا البريطانية ، كندا. Beautiful Johnstone Straight هي قناة بطول 68 ميلاً تتبع الساحل الشمالي الشرقي لجزيرة فانكوفر ، كولومبيا البريطانية. خلال أشهر الصيف ، تعد موطنًا للعديد من حيتان Orca العملاقة. تعد مشاهدة الحيتان نشاطًا رئيسيًا أثناء السفر عبر هذا الجزء من الممر المائي.

كتشاكان

تقترب من كيتشيكان

عندما تقترب من قرية الصيد Ketchikan ، سوف تتعجب من خلفية الجبال الرائعة المغطاة بالثلوج. كيتشيكان هي المدينة الأولى التي ستراها عند دخولك قسم ألاسكا من الممر المائي.

تعد كيتشيكان موطنًا لأمة التلينجيت. في جميع أنحاء المدينة ، سترى العديد من أعمدة الطوطم الأمريكية الأصلية المعروضة. ابحث عن مكانك وستتمتع برؤية النصب التذكاري الوطني Misty Fiords القريب. Misty Fiords هي برية منحوتة على الجليد ونصب تذكاري وطني يضم الجبال الجميلة المغطاة بالثلوج والشلالات الصافية وسمك السلمون الرائع الذي يستدعي الجداول القريبة إلى المنزل. تعد كيتشيكان موطنًا للعديد من أنواع الحياة البرية بما في ذلك الدببة السوداء والذئاب والنسور الصلعاء الرائعة.

اعتمادًا على طول إقامتك ، هناك العديد من الجولات في المنطقة المحيطة ، بما في ذلك جولات الدراجات وجولات القوارب وجولات الهليكوبتر. مهما كان الوقت الذي ستقضيه في هذه المدينة الأولى ، فستكافأ بمغامرة خارجية مذهلة.

كتشاكان

المدينة الأولى

كيتشيكان هي المدينة الأولى وأنت تسافر شمالًا على الممر الداخلي في ألاسكا. إنها قرية صيد مبهجة تنتظر مشاركة تراثها وروعتها معك. بغض النظر عن طول أو قصر توقفك في كيتشيكان ، فهناك العديد من المجوهرات التي تنتظر مشاركتها.

الهبوط

الهبوط

غالبًا ما توفر كيتشيكان توقفًا قصيرًا. إذن إلى أين تذهب مع توقف قصير عندما تكون جائعًا حقًا في كيتشيكان؟ مطعم Landing هو المكان المناسب للذهاب للخدمة السريعة والطعام الممتاز. لديهم مجموعة هائلة من الأطباق التخصصية. سمك السلمون حساء ، عجة السلطعون ، وبيرة ألاسكا المحلية هي أطعمة منزلية شهية.

ترك كيتشيكان

ترك بيكاتشيكان كيتشيكان

عند مغادرة المدينة الأولى الخلابة ، ستستمر في رحلة شمالية إلى آخر الحدود. ألاسكا ، أرض شمس منتصف الليل تلوح في الأفق. استرخ واستمتع بمشاهدة الأنهار الجليدية لمياه المد والجبال القديمة المغطاة بالثلوج. تتألق الأنهار الجليدية في الشمس ، حيث ترحب بكم في أرض العجائب الشمالية المذهلة. استمتع بأسود البحر ، والفقمات ، وربما حيتان الأوكرا. انظر لأعلى لترى البفن والنسور المهيبة في السماء. هذه أرض لا مثيل لها ولن يكون هناك يومان متماثلان.

الاسترخاء

الاسترخاء في الممر الداخلي

اجلس واسترخ وأنت تسافر عبر الممر الداخلي الجميل في ألاسكا. هنا في أرض شمس منتصف الليل ، تكون أيام الصيف طويلة والليالي تمر بسرعة. استرح واستمتع بالمناظر ، حيث تستعد للمحطة التالية. المغامرة تدور حول كل طبيب شرعي.

الدخول في رانجل

قرب جزيرة رانجيل

ترحب بكم المياه الهادئة للممر الداخلي بالقرب من جزيرة رانجل في ألاسكا وأنت تمر على الجزيرة ، تقع جزيرة رانجل في وسط المحيط المتجمد الشمالي بين بحر تشوكشي وبحر سيبيريا الشرقي. النسيم لطيف وهذه المياه المحمية هادئة أثناء تجولك عبر الجزيرة. اجلس واسترخي واستوعب الجمال!

رانجل

رانجيل ، ألاسكا

جمال طبيعي مذهل وحياة برية تحيط بقرية الصيد Wrangell. توفر الجبال الشامخة والجزر العديدة والغابات المطيرة المذهلة المغامرة في كل طبيب شرعي. جرب كل ذلك في Wrangell ، حيث يمكنك استكشاف الأنهار الجليدية ومشاهدة الحياة البرية والمشاركة في الأنشطة الخارجية والمرح.

Wrangell هي مدينة تاريخية بها ثروة مذهلة من التاريخ الحي والثقافة. هذه هي المدينة الوحيدة في ألاسكا التي كانت تحت حكم أربع دول. المغامرة تنتظر في Wrangell.

الكلب

الأبيض ألاسكا Malamute الحفظ ووتش

أثناء الاستمتاع بأرصفة Wrangel الجميلة المزينة بالكريستال العقيق ، لاحظ العديد من Malamutes White Alaskan Malamutes الرائعة. سوف تراهم في جميع أنحاء ولاية ألاسكا ، هذه الحيوانات الرائعة في أقصى الشمال ، في مهمة. سترى العديد من هذه Malamutes البيضاء الرائعة تراقب. هذه ليست سوى واحدة من العديد من الحيوانات المدهشة التي ستراها أثناء الإبحار عبر الممر الداخلي.

جزر رانجل

الأنهار الجليدية والجزر والخلجان

أثناء مغادرتك لـ Wrangle ، انظر إلى جميع الأنهار الجليدية الرائعة ، وقمم الجبال ، والعديد من الجزر والخلجان. شاهد المياه لتلك اللحظات الخاصة حيث سترى الطبيعة في بيئتها الطبيعية. أثناء تجولك بالقرب من الجزر ، ربما سترى دببة سوداء تصطاد ، أو فقمات تلعب. أثناء تجولك على هذه الجبال الشاهقة ، استمتع بالأنهار الجليدية الزرقاء التي تتلألأ في الشمس. هذه هي أرض شمس منتصف الليل ، والمغامرة موجودة في كل طبيب شرعي وفي كل جزيرة وفي كل مدينة.

بطرسبورغ

ليتل النرويج

تعد مدينة بطرسبورغ ، النرويج الصغيرة في ألاسكا ، قرية صيد جذابة لا تزال تكسب عيشها من البحر. تم بناء Little Norway في ألاسكا لأول مرة من قبل الصيادين النرويجيين منذ أكثر من 100 عام. سميت المدينة باسم المهاجر النرويجي بيتر بوشمان ، الذي كان من أوائل أصحاب المنازل في المنطقة ومؤسس مصنع التعليب والمنشار. كما قام ببناء أول رصيف حوالي عام 1900 في وقت ما. يعمل مصنع التعليب بشكل مستمر منذ اكتماله. تعد بطرسبورغ واحدة من أهم مجتمعات الصيد في ألاسكا. يتم إنتاج الكثير من مصانع التعليب في ألاسكا في بطرسبورغ.

استمتع بواحدة من أكثر المناطق البرية الخلابة في ألاسكا. بطرسبورغ محاطة بالطبيعة. هل تستمتع بالمشي لمسافات طويلة؟ ستجد العديد من مسارات ألاسكا في المنطقة البرية المحيطة بطرسبورغ. هناك العديد من رحلات الطيران التي ستسعدك وأنت تطير فوق الأنهار الجليدية الجميلة والمناطق البرية ذات الجمال الخالص. هناك العديد من القوارب المستأجرة لمشاهدة الحيتان خلال الهجرة السنوية. سواء كنت تستمتع بالطيور أو الصيد الرياضي أو مشاهدة المعالم السياحية ، ستجد المغامرة في النرويج الصغيرة. سواء كان اهتمامك هو التنزه على مساراتنا العديدة الجميلة ، أو مشاهدة المعالم السياحية فوق الأنهار الجليدية ، أو استئجار قارب لمشاهدة الحيتان أو رحلة نهر جليدي ، أو الطيور ، أو الصيد الرياضي ، أو مشاهدة المعالم السياحية ، فإن بطرسبرج لديها ذلك!

جونو

جونو ، ألاسكا

جونو ، ألاسكا محاطة بالأنهار الجليدية الجميلة والمأكولات البحرية الرائعة والتاريخ المذهل. هذه المدينة التاريخية صدى أيام اندفاع الذهب. التاريخ حي وبصحة جيدة في جونو. في جونو ، سوف تكتشف واحدة من أبعد عواصم البلدان ، ولا يمكن الوصول إليها إلا بالقوارب والطائرات المائية. تقع هذه المدينة التاريخية النادرة عند قاعدة جبل روبرتس ، وهو جبل يبلغ ارتفاعه 3,819 قدمًا مع مسارات المشي في الضواحي والأزهار البرية الجميلة وإطلالات رائعة على قناة جاستينو.

يحتوي جونو على ترام رائع يتسلق الجبل بالزوار إلى مستوى 1,800 قدم. لن تجد هنا المسارات والأزهار البرية والمناظر فحسب ، بل ستجد أيضًا أحد أروع مراكز الطيور الجارحة. مركز Juneau Raptor مخصص للعديد من الطيور المحلية والطيور الجارحة الرائعة التي تستدعي منزل جنوب شرق ألاسكا.

Juneau هي محطة رئيسية للسفن السياحية أثناء سفرك في الممر الداخلي. سواء كنت في الميناء لبضع ساعات أو يومين ، هناك الكثير من الإثارة في جونو.

ويتير

ويتير ، ألاسكا

في كل صيف ، تجلب العديد من السفن السياحية و Alaskan Ferry الزوار وسكان ألاسكا على حد سواء إلى ميناء Whittier على الجانب الغربي من Prince William Sound. أولئك الذين يغادرون العبارة ، يجب عليهم مغادرة Whittier والقيادة عبر نفق من مسار واحد إلى Anchorage. هذه الرحلة هي نهاية رحلة جميلة في داخل الممر. لكنها ليست النهاية ، فهي مجرد بداية مغامرة مذهلة. ويتير هو باب ألاسكا. حان الوقت الآن لاستكشاف المناطق الداخلية العظيمة لهذه الولاية الشمالية البعيدة.

Whittier هي وجهة صيفية شهيرة لسفن الرحلات البحرية والقوارب المستأجرة وسفن الصيد التجارية من جميع الأحجام. في فصل الشتاء ، تكون معزولة للغاية وغالبًا ما تتساقط ثلوجها أكثر من 250 بوصة. يعيش معظم سكان البلدات البالغ عددهم 200 نسمة تحت سقف واحد في ثكنات عسكرية سابقة مكونة من 14 طابقًا. تجد هنا عيادة صحية ومركز شرطة والخدمات الأكثر احتياجًا. هذه مدينة فريدة لن تجدها إلا في أرض شمس منتصف الليل!

المغامرة تنتظر

ماذا تنتظر؟ يوجد في ألاسكا مناطق لم يمسها أحد في انتظار استكشافها. المشهد لا يصدق ، والمغامرة غير محدودة. اليوم هو يوم ممتاز لاكتشاف الممر الداخلي وجميع المدن الصغيرة الجذابة التي تنتشر في أنحاء ألاسكا.

هذا أيضًا منشور معتمد على lookit ضمنexploretraveler على: https://steemit.com/treanding/@exploretraveler

 

 

 

منذ التقلبات في الطاقة ، هم أيضًا في هذه الفئة. بسبب حصولهم على درجة AAA ، و GMT Master II Pepsi من الذهب الأبيض ومجموعات ذهبية جديدة من Sky-Dweller. من الواضح أن الحلقة الجلدية هي طريقة رائدة لتلقي حزام جلد البقر التقليدي لأوقات متطورة. أنا أحب Apple Watch Leather Loop فيما يتعلق بأسلوبها وإطار الاتصال الجذاب للغاية الذي ابتكرته Apple. استخدمت Apple جلد البقر البديل لهذا aaa طبق بريتلينغ نافيتايمر سوار ساعات من جلد العجل Ecco الهولندي المستخدم في الإبزيم الكلاسيكي. تستخدم Apple Watch Leather Loop بدلاً من ذلك جلد عجل فينيسيا الإيطالي الذي يتميز بأجواء وتكوين مختلفين. الخطط القابلة للتحديد والتفاضل بشكل فعال هي أحد مفاتيح النموذج s - أو بالأحرى.

Exploring The Inside Passage

north-to-alaska

                       North To Alaska

Traveling the inside passage is ominous, and it all begins in Bellingham, Washington. We arrive in the this small scenic town just before our journey is to start. While in this fun getaway, we decide to do a little fishing and enjoy the magnificent scenery. In Bellingham, we find a culture filled with amazing experiences with many things to do in the great outdoors.  Not only is it the gateway to the Inside Passage and the great State of Alaska, but it is a recreational jewel in it's own right.

fishing

     Fishing for sweet Dungeness Crab

As your vessel is being prepared, it is the perfect time to discover your host town of Bellingham, Washington. As you wander the docks, be sure to try your skill at bringing in the best and sweetest Dungeness Crab in the world. The fishing is fun! The day is amazing! The Crab is delicious!

Bellingham, Washington is more than the gateway to the Inside Passage. This quaint fishing town is a fun getaway filled with delightful shops, nature trails, and magnificent scenery. Bellingham has a splendid culture of outdoor recreation with quality lodging, outstanding restaurants, and a multitude of things to do. Why not come a day ahead? Spend the night and day before your departure in one of the most splendid beach towns in Washington.

                             On our Way

As we begin our fantastic journey through the Inside Passage, we also leave Washington behind and we enter the Coastal Waterways. A few hours takes us into British Columbia, Canada and the deep blue Salish Sea. The Salish Sea is a coastal maze of waterways that begins in the northwestern part of the State of Washington and goes as far North as the southern end of the Southwestern portion of Canada.  Nestled among it's waterways are several major bodies of water. You will pass through the northern part of Puget Sound, and to the west is the Straight of Juan de Fuca. As you travel north you will see the Strait of Georgia. For miles and miles you will see some of the bluest water, magnificent mountains, and amazing scenery.

feeling-safe

           Feeling Safe On The Salish Sea

The spectacular Salish Sea is the coastal home to several Salish Tribes living in both Washington, USA and British Columbia, Canada. The calm waterways of the Salish Sea are important trade routes for the Coast Salish. They also remain a major source of food and other resources. This waterway is home to several indigenous peoples including the Coast Salish, Northern Wakashan, Kwakwaka'wakw, and the Southern Wakashan.

If you are observant as you travel, it is possible to see any of the 253 fish species that have been observed within the Salish Sea. When traveling closer to shore, it is possible to see larger animals on the shoreline near any of the little fishing villages as you enter their ports.

johnstone-straight

                       Johnstone Straight

As you continue your adventure northward in the Inside Passage you most likely will spend a pleasant evening or day on the Johnstone straight in British Columbia, Canada. Beautiful Johnstone Straight is a 68 mile long channel that follows the northeast coast of Vancouver Island, British Columbia. During the summer months it is home to many giant Orca Whales. Whale watching is a major activity while traveling through this section of the waterway.

ketchakan

             Approaching Ketchikan

As you approach the fishing village of Ketchikan, you will marvel at the backdrop of the spectacular snow capped mountains. Ketchikan is the first town that you will see as you enter the Alaska section of the waterway.

Ketchikan is home to the Tlingit Nation. Throughout the town you will see many Native American totem poles on display. Look up and you will be privileged to see nearby Misty Fiords National Monument. Misty Fiords is a glacier-carved wilderness and National Monument featuring beautiful snow capped mountains, crystal clear waterfalls and magnificent salmon that call nearby streams home. Ketchikan is home to many species of wildlife including black bears, wolves, and magnificent bald eagles.

Depending on the length of your stay, there are many tours of the surrounding area, including bike tours, boat tours, and helicopter tours. However much time you are able to spend in this First City will be rewarded with spectacular outdoor adventure.

ketchakan-2

                           The First City

Ketchikan is the first city as you travel north on the Inside Passage in Alaska. It is a delightful fishing village waiting to share it's heritage and splendor with you. No matter how long or short your layover in Ketchikan might be, it has many jewels waiting to be shared.

the-landing

                            The Landing

Often Ketchikan only affords a short layover. So where do you go with a short layover when you are  really hungry in Ketchikan? The Landing Restaurant is the place to go for fast service and excellent food. They have an enormous  selection of both dine in and dine out specialties. Salmon Chowder, Crab omelets, and local Alaskan beer are house delicacies.

leaving-ketchikan

           Leaving Pictureque Ketchikan

Leaving pictureque First City you continue on  a northern journey into the Last Frontier. Alaska, the Land of the Midnight Sun beckons.  Sit back and enjoy viewing tidewater glaciers, and ancient snow capped mountains. The glaciers sparkle in the sun, as they welcome you to this amazing northern wonderland. Enjoy sea lions, seals,  and possibly even Ocra whales. Look up to see puffins, and majestic eagles in the sky. This is a land like no other and no two days will ever be the same.

relax

          Relaxing On The Inside Passage

Sit back and relax as you travel through the beautiful Inside Passage in Alaska. Here in the Land Of The Midnight Sun, the summer days are long and nights pass quickly. Rest and enjoy the scenery, as you get ready for the next stop. Adventure is around every coroner.

coming-into-wrangle

                Nearing Wrangell Island

The calm waters of the Inside Passage near Wrangel Island in Alaska welcomes you as you pass by the island.Wrangel Island is in the midst of the Arctic Ocean nestled between the Chukchi Sea and the East Siberian Sea. The breezes are gentle and these protected waters are calm as you cruise past the island. Sit back, relax, and absorb the beauty!

wrangel

                     Wrangell, Alaska

Spectacular natural beauty and wildlife surrounds the fishing village of Wrangell. The majestic mountains, numerous  islands,and amazing rainforest provide adventure at every coroner. Experience it all in Wrangell, where you can explore glaciers, view wildlife, and participate in outdoor activities and fun.

Wrangell is an historic town with an amazing wealth of living history and culture. This is the only town in Alaska to have been under the rule of four countries. Adventure is waiting in Wrangell.

dog

White Alaskan Malamute Keeping Watch

While enjoying the beautiful garnet crystal laced sidewalks of Wrangel, take note of the many majestic White Alaskan Malamutes. You will see them throughout the State of Alaska, these spectacular animals of the far north, are on a mission. You will see many of these magnificent white Malamutes keeping watch. These are only one of the many amazing animals you will see while cruising through the Inside Passage.

wrangle-islands

           Glaciers,Islands, And Bays

As you are leaving Wrangle, look out at all the majestic glaciers, mountain peaks, numerous islands and bays. Watch the waters for those special moments where you will see nature in their natural habitat. As you cruise near the islands, perhaps you will see black bears fishing, or seals at play. As you cruise by these tall mountains, enjoy the blue tinted glaciers that sparkle in the sun. This is the Land Of The Midnight Sun, and adventure is at every coroner, on every island, and in every town.

petersburg

                             Little Norway

Petersburg, Alaska's Little Norway, is a quaint fishing village that still makes its living from the sea. Alaska’s Little Norway was first built up by Norwegian fishermen over 100 years ago. The town was named for a Norwegian immigrant, Peter Buschmann, who was one of the first homesteaders in the area and founder of the cannery and saw mill. He also built the first dock around 1900 sometime.   The cannery has operated continuously since its completion. Petersburg is one of Alaska's most important fishing communities. Much of Alaska's cannery production is done in Petersburg.

Enjoy one of the most breathtaking wilderness areas in Alaska. Petersburg is surrounded by nature. Do you enjoy hiking? You will find many of Alaska's trails is in the wilderness area surrounding Petersburg. There are many flight tours that will delight you as you fly over beautiful glaciers and wilderness areas of pure beauty. There are many charter boats for whale watching during the yearly migration. Whether you enjoy birding, sports fishing, or sightseeing, you will find adventure in little Norway.  Whether your interest is hiking our many beautiful trails, flightseeing over the glaciers, chartering a boat for whale watching or a glacier trip, birding, sports fishing or sightseeing, Petersburg has it!

juneau

                          Juneau,Alaska

Juneau, Alaska is surrounded by beautiful glaciers, outstanding seafood, and spectacular history. This historical town echos the days of the gold rush. History is alive and well in Juneau. In Juneau, you will discover one of the countries remotest capitals, reachable only by boat and seaplane. This rare historical town sits at the base of Mt. Roberts, a 3,819 foot mountain with suburb hiking trails, beautiful wildflowers, and amazing views of Gastineau channel.

Juneau has a remarkable tram which climbs the mountain with visitors to the 1,800 foot level. Here you will not only find trails, wildflowers, and views, but one of the most amazing raptor centers. Juneau Raptor Center is dedicated to the many local birds and magnificent raptors that call Southeast Alaska home.

Juneau is a major cruise ship stop as you travel the Inside Passage. Whether you are in port a few hours or a couple of days, there is plenty of excitement in Juneau.

whittier

                          Whittier, Alaska

Each summer, many cruise ships and the Alaskan Ferry bring visitors and Alaskan residents alike to Whittier's harbor on the west side of Prince William Sound. Those who depart the ferry, must leave Whittier and drive through a one-lane tunnel to Anchorage.  This trip is the end of a beautiful voyage up the Inside Passage. But it is not the end, as it is only the beginning of amazing adventure. Whittier is the door to Alaska. It is now time to explore the great interior of this far northern state.

Whittier is a popular summer destination of cruise ships,  charter boats, and commercial fishing vessels of all sizes. In winter, though, it is extremely  isolated and often gets over 250 inches of snow. Most of the towns 200 residents live under one roof in a 14 story former Army barracks. Here you find a health clinic, police station , and most needed services. This is a unique town that you will only find in the Land of the Midnight Sun!

                Adventure Is Waiting

What are you waiting for? Alaska has untouched areas waiting to be explored. The scenery is unbelievable, and adventure is unlimited. Today is an excellent day to discover the Inside Passage and all the quaint small towns that dot the panhandle of Alaska.

This is also an authorized post on seemit under @exploretraveler at: https://steemit.com/treanding/@exploretraveler

 

 

 

Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply

You may also like

Great Texas & New Mexico BBQ

Rudy's "Country Store" and Bar-B-Q There is a