Passer au contenu

Il est sorti de la tombe

         grave        Il est ressuscité ; Il n'est pas là

Matthieu 28:5-6 « N'ayez pas peur, car je sais que vous cherchez Jésus, qui a été crucifié. Il n'est pas là; il est ressuscité, comme il l'avait dit.

Il s'est levé ! Il n'est plus dans la tombe ! Venez voir l'endroit où ils l'ont déposé ! Ce sont les paroles qui résonnent à travers le pays, dans toutes les langues, dans toutes les nations où les fidèles célèbrent la résurrection de leur Seigneur. Les gens affluent au sommet de la montagne pour saluer le jour et se rappeler qu'ils ont un Sauveur vivant qui a vaincu la tombe.

Il n'y a pas de plus grand privilège pour les croyants que de vivre la Semaine Sainte à Jérusalem. A Jérusalem, ils peuvent marcher dans les pas de leur Sauveur. Où d'autre dans le monde pouvez-vous faire cela?

À Jérusalem, vous pouvez célébrer les plus grands événements de l'histoire chrétienne. Événements menant au salut. Ici, vous pouvez vivre l'histoire de ce jour le plus important. Vous faites l'expérience de la vie de Jésus à l'endroit même où l'histoire s'est déroulée. Quelle expérience émouvante à tout moment de l'année. Imaginez ce que c'est que d'être là aujourd'hui. C'est inoubliable ! C'est une expérience que les fidèles n'oublient jamais.

Eglise du Saint-Sépulcre

       « La lumière brille dans les ténèbres »

"La lumière brille dans les ténèbres" sur l'église du Saint-Sépulcre à Jérusalem, lieu traditionnel de la crucifixion. C'est là que commencent les événements du dimanche avant Pâques. Ce jour est connu dans une grande partie du monde chrétien sous le nom de dimanche des Rameaux. La Semaine Sainte a officiellement commencé en Terre Sainte par une messe de célébration à 8 heures du matin. La journée se termine par la procession des rameaux dans l'après-midi. C'est un jour de célébration jubilatoire par de nombreuses religions à travers le monde. C'est une période passionnante pour être un pèlerin en Terre Sainte.

Porte de Jaffa

         Ils sont entrés par la porte de Jaffa

A 2h30 heure locale, plusieurs milliers de pèlerins chrétiens catholiques du monde entier entament une joyeuse marche depuis le Village de Bethphagé sur le Mont des Oliviers. Des chrétiens du monde entier se joignent aux croyants catholiques alors qu'ils sortent en marchant, agitant leurs paumes. Ils sortent prier et chanter dans toutes les langues. Ils descendent du côté ouest du Mont des Oliviers. Ensuite, ils traverseront la vallée du Cédron et entreront dans la vieille ville par la porte de Jaffa. La procession se termine à l'église Sainte-Anne.

Les croyants orthodoxes suivent le patriarche alors qu'il les conduit. Chacun portera des feuilles de palmier. C'est une procession colorée qui descend vers l'église du Saint-Sépulcre et revient vers le patriarcat. Il existe plusieurs autres processions des confessions arménienne, copte et syrienne. Celles-ci ont également lieu au sein de l'église du Saint-Sépulcre.

Quel beau spectacle à voir, alors que tous les nombreux fidèles commencent leur marche dans l'église du Saint-Sépulcre. Quel temps joyeux c'est, comme ils se souviennent quand leur Sauveur est entré dans la ville sur un petit âne blanc. La foule était joyeuse et agitait des palmes. C'était le premier dimanche des Rameaux, il y a si longtemps.

Jeudi matin à 8 heures du matin, les fidèles catholiques du monde entier se rassemblent à l'église du Saint-Sépulcre à Jérusalem. La messe de la Cène du Seigneur est célébrée par le patriarche latin de Jérusalem. C'est pour se souvenir de la nuit au Cénacle, où Jésus s'est réuni avec ses disciples pour rompre le pain. Ici, à l'église du Saint-Sépulcre, ils se souviennent de cette première Cène du Seigneur, alors que des chrétiens de toutes les langues, de toutes les nations, se réunissent pour rompre le pain.

Dans l'après-midi du même jour, les Franciscains effectueront leur pèlerinage traditionnel au Cénacle ou au Cénacle sur le Mont Sion. Lors de ce qu'on appelle l'Heure Sainte, une lecture en plusieurs langues aura lieu dans la Basilique de l'Agonie à Gethsémané. Plus tard, une procession aux chandelles descendra de Gethsémani au mont Sion pour les fidèles catholiques romains. L'église Saint-Pierre en Gallicante restera ouverte la nuit pour que les fidèles viennent prier.

Saint-Sépulcre

               Entrée de la cour

Les dénominations orthodoxes célèbrent la nuit avec la célébration du lavement des pieds. C'est en souvenir de ce moment au Cénacle où Jésus a lavé les pieds des disciples. Cette célébration solennelle a lieu dans la cour de l'église du Saint-Sépulcre, ainsi que dans chacune des églises orthodoxes de la vieille ville. Comme pour toutes les célébrations, les fidèles orthodoxes de toutes les nations se réuniront pour ce temps de commémoration.

Jardin de Gethsémani

                   Jardin de Gethsémani

Les dénominations anglicane, luthérienne et protestante organisent également une procession le jeudi de la semaine sainte qui commence à la cathédrale Saint-Georges, continue jusqu'à l'église du Rédempteur et de là à l'église du Christ, se terminant au jardin de Gethsémané. Ici, au jardin, les fidèles protestants ont également un lieu de prière où ils peuvent eux aussi regarder le Sauveur prier dans le jardin de Gethsémané il y a plus de 2000 ans. Les événements de cette nuit sont enregistrés dans l'évangile de Matthieu :

Alors Jésus alla avec ses disciples dans un lieu appelé Gethsémané, et il leur dit : « Asseyez-vous ici pendant que je vais là-bas et que je prie. Il prit avec lui Pierre et les deux fils de Zébédée, et il commença à être triste et troublé.

Puis il leur dit : « Mon âme est accablée de douleur jusqu'à la mort. Reste ici et veille avec moi.

S'avançant un peu plus loin, il tomba le visage contre terre et pria : « Mon Père, s'il est possible, que cette coupe me soit ôtée. Mais pas comme je veux, mais comme tu veux.

–Matthieu 26:36-39

Les chrétiens locaux vivant en Terre Sainte de toutes les confessions veilleront avec Jésus pendant ce temps de méditation et de prière. Une heure sainte dans le jardin de Gethsémané est observée par les disciples locaux de Jésus et les pèlerins. Cette heure est extrêmement importante et les adeptes de nombreuses confessions veilleront et prieront dans le jardin de Gethsémané cette nuit. Elle est ensuite suivie d'une procession aux chandelles jusqu'à l'église Saint-Pierre en Gallicante. C'est l'église qui est traditionnellement connue comme le site où Jésus a passé la nuit après son arrestation.

Le Vendredi Saint est le jour où la plupart des dénominations croient que Jésus a été crucifié et enterré. Il y a une procession composée de milliers de croyants de nombreuses confessions. Les fidèles portent des croix et sont dirigés par le patriarche latin de Jérusalem. Le patriarche latin de Jérusalem est le gardien des lieux saints. En descendant la Via Dolorosa, ils marqueront le chemin de croix.

Calvaire

          Ascension du Golgotha ​​ou du Calvaire

En revenant à l'église du Saint-Sépulcre, vous entrez du côté sud par la porte de gauche. Au lieu d'entrer dans le sanctuaire, vous allez à droite. Ici, vous commencez à monter un escalier sinueux et raide. Vous montez maintenant au Calvaire (tiré du latin) ou au Golgotha ​​(tiré de l'araméen), là où Jésus a été crucifié. Les deux noms signifient "l'endroit du crâne".

Au sommet de l'escalier, il s'ouvre sur un sol au niveau d'une zone rocheuse, c'est ici que Jésus a été crucifié. C'est le rocher du Golgotha. C'est ici que se tenait la croix de Jésus, avec deux autres croix, une de chaque côté. C'est ici qu'il est mort avec un voleur de chaque côté. Il a été crucifié comme criminel de droit commun. Alors que vous vous tenez debout en regardant l'endroit où se trouvaient les croix, le poids et l'ampleur de la crucifixion viennent sur chaque pèlerin. Comment ne peut-il pas?

PIERRE

À l'arrière de la chapelle grecque se trouve un autre escalier qui redescend. À gauche de l'escalier se trouve ce qu'on appelle la pierre d'onction. Cette dalle est une pierre rougeâtre avec des chandeliers et une rangée de huit lampes au-dessus. Ici, vous trouverez des pèlerins agenouillés et embrassant la pierre avec une grande révérence, car elle représente pour eux le lieu où le corps de Jésus a été oint pour l'enterrement. Ce n'est pas la pierre d'origine, car elle ne date que de 1810. La dévotion d'embrasser la pierre remonte au 12ème siècle. Les pèlerins apportent souvent des objets et se couchent sur la pierre, alors qu'ils prient et demandent des faveurs pour ceux qui ne sont pas venus.                     

Il y aura également de nombreux groupes indépendants qui descendront la Via Dolorosa dans la Vieille Ville de Jérusalem. Ces processions se terminent toutes à l'église du Saint-Sépulcre. Toutes les nombreuses processions rappellent que la Via Dolorosa est le chemin parcouru par leur Sauveur portant sa croix et se terminent toutes au Calvaire.

les épines

                   "Couronne d'épines"

La « couronne d'épines » est un événement douloureux dont tous se souviennent. Ce sont les branches de l'arbre d'acacia, qui ont été utilisées pour faire la « couronne d'épines ». Jésus a été battu et une couronne d'épines a été placée sur sa tête. C'était la couronne qu'il portait alors qu'il parcourait la Via Dolorosa il y a plus de 2000 ans. Pendant les processions est un moment de souvenir de cette "couronne d'épines" douloureuse et douloureuse faite à partir de cet arbre extrêmement méchant et épineux. Beaucoup d'arbres ont des épines, mais aucun comme l'Acacia.

Pouvez-vous imaginer la douleur causée par cette "couronne d'épines?" Aucun autre arbre n'a d'épines comme celle-ci ! Si vous avez déjà rencontré l'épine du citronnier, vous savez à quel point elles font mal. Imaginez une épine plus longue et plus grosse. L'épine est comme un rasoir, elle est si tranchante. Cela constituait la "couronne d'épines!"

Ongle

                             Crucifixion

Un clou enfoncé dans l'os de la cheville a été découvert à Jérusalem datant du 1er siècle après JC. Il offre un visuel vivant et qui donne à réfléchir de ce que c'était que d'être crucifié. Les fidèles de toutes les confessions se souviennent de l'agonie que Jésus a traversée sur la croix il y a plus de 2000 ans. La crucifixion est la façon la plus douloureuse de mourir. Jésus était suspendu à la croix comme un produit chimique ordinaire. Le poids de son corps aurait été atroce.

  Un peu d'histoire sur ces lieux saints

Trois confessions se partagent la propriété de l'église du Saint-Sépulcre. Les orthodoxes grecs, l'Église latine ou les catholiques romains et les orthodoxes arméniens. Les Grecs possèdent l'espace de culte central qui s'appelle le "Katholikon". L'église s'appelle « Anastasia » ou Église de la Résurrection.

Les Arméniens possèdent la chapelle souterraine de Sainte-Hélène. Ils l'ont renommé en l'honneur de saint Grégoire l'Illuminateur.

Les catholiques romains ou de rite latin sont propriétaires de la chapelle franciscaine de l'apparition. La tradition catholique affirme que le Christ ressuscité y est apparu pour la première fois à sa mère. Ils possèdent également une chapelle souterraine de la découverte de la croix.

Trois petites communautés orthodoxes mineures ont des droits sur certaines zones. Ce sont les coptes, les syriaques et les orthodoxes éthiopiens. Un monastère de moines éthiopiens mène une vie humble dans une sorte de village africain situé sur le toit. Le monastère éthiopien s'appelle Deir es-Sultan.

L'église du Saint-Sépulcre compte plus de 30 chapelles. Chaque chapelle a tous les signes extérieurs de la dénomination qui l'utilise. Si vous pouviez dépouiller tous les bâtiments construits par l'homme et vous tenir debout sur la terre nue, vous vous tiendriez entre deux endroits. Pas plus de 90 pieds séparent les deux. Vous seriez debout sur de la terre, de la roche et de l'herbe. C'était les conditions de la région lorsque Jésus est mort et a été enterré ici.

       L'église du Saint-Sépulcre

Dans la soirée, les catholiques organisent une procession funéraire qui commence à l'église du Saint-Sépulcre dans la vieille ville. De nombreuses autres églises de la vieille ville ont des processions similaires à travers la ville. Plusieurs églises protestantes ont des services au Garden Tomb à Jérusalem. Ces services se déroulent en plusieurs langues, dont l'anglais.

lieu d'inhumation réel

Le tombeau où il a été déposé

La plupart des processions mènent au tombeau du jardin où Jésus a été déposé. Au centre se trouve une petite maison en pierre ou tombeau. L'entrée est flanquée de bougies. C'est le tombeau du Christ ou ce qu'on appelle la 14e station de la croix alors que les processions marchent vers le tombeau. C'est ici qu'Il a été enterré et d'ici Il est ressuscité. La pierre est protégée par un cadre. C'est là qu'il est resté au tombeau pendant trois jours et trois nuits. C'est d'ici qu'il est ressuscité le troisième jour.

Jour de la Résurrection

Le dimanche de Pâques, les fidèles catholiques romains célèbrent la résurrection de Jésus-Christ. Ils reconnaissent qu'Il est ressuscité ! Le patriarche latin dirige une procession vers l'église du Saint-Sépulcre. À l'église du Saint-Sépulcre, la messe de Pâques est dite et une lecture multilingue de l'Évangile de la Résurrection est lue par le patriarche.

Les luthériens tiennent l'Eucharistie du jour de Pâques sur le mont des Oliviers derrière l'église Augusta Victoria. Le service a lieu en plein air et se déroule en plusieurs langues. Ils reconnaissent aussi qu'il est ressuscité.

Les protestants organisent les services de Pâques en anglais au Garden Tomb ainsi que dans plusieurs églises protestantes situées dans tout Jérusalem. Quelle que soit l'église, le message est le même. Il s'est levé !

Les dénominations orthodoxes commencent leur célébration du dimanche de Pâques à minuit le samedi soir. Une procession patriarcale vers l'église du Saint-Sépulcre serpente dans la vieille ville. Il y a de nombreuses célébrations de la Divine Liturgie de Pâques dans les différentes églises orthodoxes de la vieille ville.

Les commentaires sont fermés.

He Has Risen From The Grave

         grave        He Has Risen; He Is Not Here

Matthew 28:5-6 “Do not be afraid, for I know that you are looking for Jesus, who was crucified. He is not here; he has risen, just as he said.”

He has risen! He is no longer in the grave! Come see the place where they have laid Him! These are the words that echo across the land, in every tongue, in every nation where the faithful celebrate the resurrection of their Lord. People flock to the mountain top to greet the day and to remember that they have a living Savior who conquered the grave.

There is no greater privilege for believers than to  experience the Holy Week in Jerusalem. In Jerusalem, they can walk in the steps of their Savior. Where else in the world can you do that?

In Jerusalem you can celebrate the greatest events in Christian history. Events leading to salvation. Here you can live the history of this most important day. You are experiencing Jesus’ life at the very place where history happened. What a moving experience anytime of the year. Imagine what it is like to be there today. It is unforgettable! It is an experience the faithful never forget.

Church of the Holy Sepulchre

       “The light shines in the darkness”

“The light shines in the darkness” on the Church of the Holy Sepulchre in Jerusalem, the traditional site of the crucifixion. This is where the events of the Sunday before Easter begin. This day is known throughout much of the Christian world as Palm Sunday. Holy Week officially began in the Holy Land with an 8 am celebration mass. The day is completed with the procession of the palms in the afternoon. This is a day of jubilant celebration by many of the faiths throughout the world. It is an exciting time to be a pilgrim in the Holy Land.

Jaffa Gate

         They Entered At The Jaffa Gate

At 2:30 p.m.local time, several thousand Christian Catholic pilgrims  from throughout the world begin a joyful march from the Village of Bethphage on the Mount of Olives.  Christians from all over the world join with Catholic believers as they go out marching, waving their palms. They go out  praying and singing in every language. They descend the western side of the Mount of Olives. Next they will cross the Kidron valley and enter into the Old City at the Jaffa gate. The procession ends at the Church of St. Anne’s.

The Orthodox believers follow the Patriarch as he leads them. Each will be bearing palm fronds. It is a colorful procession that winds down to the Church of the Holy Sepulcher and back to the Patriarchate. There are several other processions from the Armenian, Coptic and Syrian denominations. These also take place within the Church of the Holy Sepulcher.

What a beautiful sight to see, as all the many faithful begin their march in the Church of the Holy Sepulcher. What a joyful time it is, as they remember when their Savior road into the city on a small white donkey. The crowds were joyful and waved palm branches. This was the original Palm Sunday, so long ago.

On Thursday morning at 8am the  Catholic faithful from around the world gather at the Church of the Holy Sepulchre in Jerusalem. The Mass of the Lord’s Supper is celebrated by the Latin Patriarch of Jerusalem. This is to remember the night in the Upper Room, where Jesus gathered with His disciples to break bread. Here at the Church of the Holy Sepulchre they remember that first Lord’s Supper, as Christians in every language, from every nation, join together to break bread.

In the afternoon of the same day, the Franciscans will make their traditional pilgrimage to the Cenacle or the Upper Room on Mount Zion. At what is known as the Holy Hour, a reading in several languages will take place in the Basilica of Agony in Gethsemane.  Latter  a candlelight procession will wind down from Gethsemane to Mount Zion for the Roman Catholic faithful. The Church of Saint Peter in Gallicantu will remain open during the night for worshippers to come and pray.

Holy Sepulchre

               Entrance From The Courtyard

The Orthodox denominations celebrates the night  with the washing of the feet celebration. This is in remembrance of that time in the Upper Room when Jesus washed the disciples feet.  This solemn celebration takes place in the courtyard of the Church Of The Holy Sepulcher, as well as each of the Orthodox churches in the Old City. As with all the celebrations, the Orthodox faithful from every nation will gather for this time of remembrance.

Garden of Gethsemane

                   Garden of Gethsemane

The Anglican, Lutheran and Protestant denominations also hold a procession on Thursday of Holy Week that begins at St. George’s Cathedral  continuing on to the Redeemer’s Church and from there to Christ Church, ending at the Garden of Gethsemane. Here at the garden the Protestant faithful also have a place of prayer where they too can watch as the Savior prayed in the Garden of Gethsemane over 2000 years ago. The events of this night are recorded in Matthew’s Gospel:

Then Jesus went with his disciples to a place called Gethsemane, and he said to them, “Sit here while I go over there and pray.” He took Peter and the two sons of Zebedee along with him, and he began to be sorrowful and troubled.

Then he said to them, “My soul is overwhelmed with sorrow to the point of death. Stay here and keep watch with me.”

Going a little farther, he fell with his face to the ground and prayed, “My Father, if it is possible, may this cup be taken from me. Yet not as I will, but as you will.”

–Matthew [26:36]-39

Local Christians living in the Holy Land of all denominations will watch with Jesus during this time of meditation and prayer. A Holy Hour in the Garden of Gethsemane is kept by the local followers of Jesus and pilgrims alike. This hour is extremely important and followers of many faiths will watch and pray in the Garden of Gethsemane this night. It is then followed by a candlelight procession to the church of St. Peter in Gallicantu. This is the church that is traditionally known as the site where Jesus spent the night after he was  arrested.

Good Friday, is the day which most denominations believe Jesus was crucified and buried. There is a procession consisting of thousands of believers of many denominations.  The followers bear crosses and are led by the Latin Patriarch of Jerusalem. The Latin Patriarch of Jerusalem is the Custodian of the Holy Sites. As they proceed down the Via Dolorosa, they will mark the Stations of the Cross.

Calvary

          Climbing Golgotha or Calvary

Upon arriving back at the Church of the Holy Sepulcher you enter on the south side through the left hand doorway. Instead of entering the sanctuary, you go to the right. Here you begin to climb a winding and steep set of stairs. You are now ascending Calvary (taken from the Latin) or Golgotha (taken from the Aramaic), where Jesus was crucified. Both names mean “the place of the skull.”

At the top of the stairs it opens unto a floor that is level with a rocky area, Here is where Jesus was crucified. This is the rock of Golgotha. It is here that the cross of Jesus stood, with two other crosses, one on each side. It is here that He died with a thief on each side. He was crucified as a common criminal. As you stand looking at the spot where the crosses stood, the weight and magnitude of the crucifixion comes over each pilgrim. How can it not?

STONE

At the rear of the Greek Chapel is another set of stairs leading back down. To the left of the stairs is what is called The Stone of Anointing.  This slab is a reddish stone with candlesticks and a row of eight lamps overhead. Here you will find pilgrims kneeling and kissing the stone with great reverence, as it represents to them the place where Jesus’ body was anointed for burial. This is not the original stone, as it dates back only to 1810. The devotion of kissing the stone dates back to the 12th Century. Pilgrims often bring objects and lay on the stone, as they pray and ask favors for others who did not come.                     

There will also be many independent groups that will make their way down the Via Dolorosa in the Old City of Jerusalem.  These processions all end at  the Church of the Holy Sepulcher. All of the many processions remember that the Via Dolorosa is the way their Savior walked carrying His cross and all end at Calvary.

thorns

                   “Crown Of Thorns”

The “Crown of Thorns” is a sorrowful event that is remembered by all. These are the Branches of the Acacia Tree, which were used to make the “Crown of Thorns.”Jesus was beaten and a crown of thorns was placed on His head. This was the crown that he wore as he walked the Via Dolorosa over 2000 years ago. During the processions is a time of remembrance of this painful and sorrowful “Crown of Thorns” made from this extremely wicked and thorny tree. Many trees have thorns, but none like the Acacia Tree.

Can you imagine the pain caused by this “Crown Of Thorns?” No other tree has thorns like this! If you have ever met the thorn of the lemon tree, you know how they hurt. Imagine a thorn that is longer and larger. The thorn is like a razor, it is so sharp. This made up the “Crown Of Thorns!”

Nail

                             Crucifixion

A nail driven through the ankle bone was discovered in Jerusalem dating from the 1st century A.D. It provides a vivid and sobering visual of what it was like to be Crucified. The faithful of all denominations remember the agony that Jesus went through on the cross more than 2000 years ago. Crucifixion is the most painful way to die. Jesus hung on the cross like a common chemical. The weight of His body would have been excruciating.

  A Little History About These Holy Sites

Three denominations share ownership of The Church Of The Holy Sepulcher. The Greek Orthodox, the Latin Church or Roman Catholics, and the Armenian Orthodox. The Greeks own the central worship space which is called the “Katholikon”. The Church is called “Anastasia’s” or Church of the Resurrection.

The Armenians own the underground Chapel of Saint Helena. They have renamed it to honor St Gregory the Illuminator.

The Roman Catholic or Latin Rite own the Franciscan Chapel of the Apparition. Catholic tradition states that the Risen Christ first appeared to His mother there. They also own an underground Chapel of the finding of the Cross.

Three small and minor Orthodox communities have rights to certain areas. They are the Coptic, Syriac, and the Ethiopian Orthodox. A Monastery of Ethiopian monks live a humble life in a type of African village located on the roof. The Ethiopian Monastery is called Deir es-Sultan.

The Church Of The Holy Sepulcher has over 30 Chapels. Each Chapel has all the trappings of the denomination who uses it. If you could strip all the man made buildings and stand on the bare dirt, you would stand between two places. Not more than 90 feet separates the two. You would be standing on dirt, rock, and grass. This was the conditions of the area when Jesus died and was buried here.

       The Church Of The Holy Sepulcher

In the evening, the Catholics hold a burial procession which begins at The Church Of The Holy Sepulcher in the Old City. Many other churches in the Old City have similar processions through the city. Several Protestant churches have services at the Garden Tomb in Jerusalem. These services are held in several languages, including English.

actual place of buriel

        The Tomb Where He Was Laid

Most of the processions lead to the garden tomb where Jesus was laid. In the center is a little stone house or tomb. The entrance is flanked by candles. This is the tomb of Christ or what is known as the 14th station of the cross as the processions walk to the tomb. It is here He was buried and from here He rose again. The stone is protected with a frame. It was here that he laid in the tomb for three days and three nights. It was from here that he arose on the Third Day.

                       Resurrection Day

On Easter Sunday, the Roman Catholic faithful celebrate the resurrection of Jesus Christ. They recognize that He has risen!  The Latin Patriarch heads a procession to the Church of the Holy Sepulcher. At the Church of the Holy Sepulcher the Easter mass is said and  a multi-lingual reading of the Gospel of Resurrection is read by the Patriarch.

The Lutherans hold the Easter day Eucharist on the Mount of Olives behind the Augusta Victoria Church. The service takes place out in the open and is held in several languages. They also recognize that He has risen.

Protestants hold the Easter services in English at the Garden Tomb as well as several Protestant churches located throughout Jerusalem. No matter which church, the message is the same. He has risen!

Orthodox denominations begin their celebration of Easter Sunday at midnight on Saturday night. A Patriarchal procession to the Church of the Holy Sepulcher winds through the old city. There are many celebrations of the Easter Divine Liturgy in the various Orthodox Churches in the Old City.

           He Has Arisen; He Is Not Heregrave

Facebook Comments

1 Comment

  1. I wish I had seen this during Holy Week so I could post it far and wide. I’m putting it on my seasonal share list for next year for those who only are interested during the season. This is beautifully done. You have certainly brought the week to life with your photos and historical comments. Thank you.

You may also like

Montpelier Is The Charming Capital Of Vermont

   The Vermont State House In Montpelier, One