Photo of the day – Downtown Hsinchu Taiwan  Photo of the day - Downtown Hsinchu Taiwan

Downtown Hsinchu in Taiwan

"Hsinchu, officially known as Hsinchu City (Chinese新竹Hanyu PinyinXīnzhú ShìTongyong PinyinSinjhú ShìhWade–GilesHsin1-chu2 Shih4Pe̍h-ōe-jīSin-tek), is a city in northern Taiwan. Hsinchu is popularly nicknamed "The Windy City" (Chinese: 風城; Hanyu Pinyin: Fēngchéng; Tongyong Pinyin: Fongchéng; Wade–Giles: Feng1-ch'eng2) for its windy climate.

Hsinchu is administered as a provincial city within Taiwan. The city is bordered by Hsinchu County to the north and east, Miaoli County to the south, and the Taiwan Strait to the west. Hsinchu is composed of three districts: North DistrictEast District andXiangshan District.

In 1626, after Spain occupied northern Taiwan, Spanish missionaries arrived at Tek-khàm (竹塹; sm: zhúqiàn), where the TaokasTaiwanese aborigines lived. During the nineteenth century, it was renamed Hsinchu. In 1920, under Japanese rule, Hsinchu Street was established, with the founding of Hsinchu Street District Office. In 1930, the city system was applied. It was renamed as Hsinchu City, under the governing of Hsinchu-Chou, with the establishment of Hsinchu City Office. In 1941, its administration district was expanded, merging with Xiangshan and Qiu Kang, and became a part of Liu Jia Zhuang.

In 1945 the incoming Kuomintang (KMT; Chinese Nationalists) established the Hsinchu City Government to govern Hsinchu-Chou. In 1946, the Take Over Committee dissolved and Hsinchu County Government was formed. Hsinchu County Government was moved to Taoyuan. As the administrative districts were readjusted, it became a provincially-governed city, using the original Chou office as its legal office, with seven district offices. In February of the same year, representative congress was formed in every district. On April 15 the City Congress was formed. Provincial Representatives were elected from the city legislators, to become legislative bodies of different levels. On August 16, 1950, the administrative districts in Taiwan were re-adjusted once more, demarcating 16 counties and 5 provincially governed cities.

In June 1982, under the President's order, the Xiangshan Township of Hsinchu County would merge into Hsinchu City, and the new entity would become a special municipality. The new government of Hsinchu was legally established on July 1, 1982, with 103 lis, and 1635 lins. The City Government is located on 120 Chung Cheng Road, the former Hsinchu-Chou Office.

In end of June 1983, there were three Bureaus (Civil Service, Public Works, and Education), four Departments (Finance, Social Welfare, Compulsory Military Service, and Land Affairs), four offices (Secretary, Planning, Personnel, and Auditing), and 49 sections (units, teams) under the City Government's organization to provide services for various urban affairs. Affiliate institutions include the Police Department, Tax Department, and Medicine and Hygiene Department.

By the end of 1982, the city was classified into east, north and Xiangshan districts. The east, north and Xiangshan district administration offices were posted on October 1 and then they were formally established on November 1 in the same year.

From 1994 to 1999, as Taiwan made its transition from authoritarian rule to modern democracy and the mostly pro forma provincial level of government began to be dissolved, regulations were established for formal Hsinchu City self-government. A deputy mayor, consumer officer, and three consultants were added to the city government. In 2002 the city added a Bureau of Labor and transferred Compulsory Military Service to the Department of Civil Service."

Bibliographic details for "Hsinchu"


Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply

You may also like

Bakso Indonesian Meatball Soup Recipe

Bakso (Indonesian meat ball) is Indonesian food made from beef and tapioca flour. Bakso is originally from china and historycally basko is popular in Indonesia since a thousand years ago when Chinese merchants came and stay in Indonesia