Passer au contenu

Les ruines antiques de Jerash

Jerash

Une belle ville antique de l'âge du bronze

Les anciennes ruines de Jerash dans les montagnes de Galaad, en Jordanie, brillent comme un joyau de l'âge du bronze. La ville romaine de Jerash couvre une superficie étonnamment vaste et est en très bon état. Il y a très peu de panneaux vous aidant à identifier les différents bâtiments, mais des guides bien formés et compétents sont disponibles pour vous aider. Vous pouvez demander un guide à l'entrée principale. Les vues sont spectaculaires lorsque vous regardez cette ville antique. Quelle grande ville prospère cela a dû être !

Jusqu'aux années 1800, Jerash était complètement une ville cachée sous les décombres du tremblement de terre qui l'a détruite en 749. Au fil des ans, il y a eu de nombreux tremblements de terre dans la région, ainsi que plusieurs guerres locales. La ville est restée enterrée et détruite pendant des centaines d'années. L'un des nombreux joyaux de la Jordanie gisait enterré en attente d'être découvert.

Temple de Zeus

Le temple de Zeus

Au-dessus de la ville se dressent les temples des différents dieux romains avec un escalier de pierre qui monte au sommet de la ville. Les anciens vestiges du temple de Zeus ont été construits en 162 après JC. Ci-dessus, vous pouvez voir toutes les sculptures complexes de cette ancienne ville creusée profondément dans les rochers. Il s'agit d'une fouille archéologique active et de nombreux travaux sont en cours dans les coulisses pour redonner aux différents bâtiments leur gloire d'antan.

L'arc d'Hadrien

L'arc d'Hadrien

Vers l'extrême sud de Jerash se trouve une arche large et très spectaculaire. On l'appelle l'Arc d'Hadrien en l'honneur de la visite de l'empereur Hadrien, qui a visité la ville. L'arc était à l'origine connu sous le nom d'Arc de Triomphe et a été construit en 129 après JC. En entrant par l'arche se trouve un magnifique hippodrome, où de nombreuses courses de chars ont eu lieu pour jusqu'à 15,000 XNUMX spectateurs venus assister à ces courses d'adresse et plus grandioses.

Les rues de la ville étaient bordées de colonnes

Les rues de la ville étaient bordées de Ccolonnes

Vous verrez des rues à colonnes traversant la ville et même un théâtre restauré. Cette ville devait être l'une des villes les mieux construites de l'Empire romain. Il est en très bon état compte tenu de son âge et a été bien conservé. C'est peut-être la ville romaine la plus préservée de l'ancien Empire romain en dehors de l'Italie.

La ville de Jerash est un incontournable pour tout aventurier sérieux. Il y a un petit musée sur place avec de nombreux artefacts anciens qui ont été découverts lors des différentes fouilles sur le site. Il s'agit d'un site archéologique en cours où ils découvrent encore les nombreux trésors enfouis sous le sol.

La ville de Jerash est un incontournable pour tous ceux qui aiment explorer les merveilles du monde antique. Il y a un petit musée sur place avec de nombreux artefacts anciens qui ont été découverts lors des différentes fouilles sur le site. Il s'agit d'un site archéologique en cours où ils découvrent encore les nombreux trésors enfouis sous le sol.

Plan de la ville d'Ur - Éléments constitutifs d'une civilisation

Ancienne ville romaine de Jerash

Publié sur steemit.com@exploretraveler le 30 mars 2017 à :

https://steemit.com/travel/@exploretraveler/the-ancient-ruins-of-jerash

Skip to content

The Ancient Ruins Of Jerash

Jerash

A Beautiful Ancient City From The Bronze Age

The ancient ruins of Jerash in the mountains of Gilead, Jordan shine forth as a jewel from the Bronze Age. The Roman city of Jerash covers an amazingly large area and is in extremely good condition. There are very few signs helping you to identify the different buildings, but there are well-trained and knowledgeable guides available to assist you. You can request a guide at the front entrance. The views are spectacular as you look out over this ancient city. What a large thriving city this must have been!

Until the 1800’s Jerash was completely a hidden city beneath the rubble of the earthquake that destroyed it in the year of 749. Throughout the years there has been many earthquakes in the region, as well as several local wars. The city lay buried and destroyed for hundreds of years. One of the many jewels of Jordan lay buried waiting to be discovered.

Temple Of Zeus

The Temple Of Zeus

Towering above the city are temples of the different Roman gods with a stone stairway ascending to the top of the city. The ancient remains of the Temple of Zeus were built in 162 AD. Above you can see all the intricate carvings of this ancient city that was carved deep into the rocks. This is an active archaeological dig and a lot of work is going on behind the scenes to restore the different buildings to their former glory.

The Arch Of  Hadrian

The Arch Of  Hadrian

Toward the far south side of Jerash is a wide and very spectacular arch. It is called Hadrian’s Arch in honor of the visit of Emperor Hadrian, who visited the city. The arch was originally known as the Triumphal Arch and was built in 129 AD. Entering through the arch is a magnificent hippodrome, where many chariot races were held for as many as 15,000 spectators who came to watch these races of skill and grander.

City Streets Were Lined With Columns

The City Streets Were Lined With Columns

You will see columned streets going through the city and even a restored theater. This city must have been one of the best-built cities in the Roman Empire. It is in extremely good condition considering its age and has been well preserved. Perhaps this is the most preserved Roman city within the old Roman Empire outside of Italy.

The city of Jerash is a must-see for any serious adventurer. There is a small museum on-site complete with many ancient artifacts that have been unearthed during the different digs at the site. This is an ongoing archaeological site where they are still discovering the many treasures buried beneath the ground.

The city of Jerash is a must-see for all those who love to explore the wonders of the ancient world. There is a small museum on-site complete with many ancient artifacts that have been unearthed during the different digs at the site. This is an ongoing archaeological site where they are still discovering the many treasures buried beneath the ground.

City of Ur Plan – Building Blocks of a Civilization

Ancient Roman City Of Jerash

Published on [email protected] on March 30, 2017 at:

https://steemit.com/travel/@exploretraveler/the-ancient-ruins-of-jerash

 

since fluctuations in energy, they are also sty in that category. Because of which they get the AAA Grade, a white gold GMT Master II Pepsi and new gold combinations of the Sky-Dweller. Clearly, the Leather Loop is a ground breaking method for receiving the conventional cowhide strap for cutting edge times. I like the Apple Watch Leather Loop as far as its style and the extremely cool attractive connection framework that Apple created. Apple utilized an alternate cowhide for this aaa Replica Breitling Navitimer watches strap than the Dutch Ecco calfskin utilized for the Classic Buckle. The Apple Watch Leather Loop rather utilizes Italian Venezia calfskin which has an alternate vibe and composition. Effectively identifiable and differentiable plans are one of the keys to a model s - or rather.