انتقل إلى المحتوى

7 حدائق وطنية نيو مكسيكو - أفكار سفر رائعة

  • by

يمكن لأفكار السفر في المتنزهات الوطنية في نيو مكسيكو خلال هذه الأوقات غير العادية هنا في الجنوب الغربي أن تساعد المرء على الاستمتاع بالهواء الطلق الرائع وتساعد حقًا في تعزيز الصحة العامة للفرد. فيما يلي قائمة بالمواقع الرائعة للسفر إليها داخل نيو مكسيكو ضمن نظام المتنزهات الوطنية بالولايات المتحدة. المدينة الرئيسية في نيو مكسيكو هي البوكيرك وسوف نستخدم هذا الموقع المركزي لوقت السفر وكموقع مركزي أو نقطة انطلاق.

سانتا في نيو مكسيكو
عاصمة سانتي في

تعد عاصمة سانتي في أيضًا موقعًا رائعًا لدخول النصف الشمالي من الولاية. المعالم الوطنية الرائعة والغابات والمتنزهات قريبة ويمكن الوصول إليها. يمكن القول إن سانتا في هي واحدة من أجمل وأجمل المدن في نيو مكسيكو وهي أيضًا عاصمة الولاية. تشمل مناطق الجذب الثقافية الرئيسية في سانتا في قصر متحف الحاكم ، الذي يقع في أقدم مبنى عام في البلاد مع مجموعته الدائمة التي تضم أكثر من 20000 عمل فني ، بما في ذلك قطع Ansell Adams و Georgia O'Keeffe و Francisco de Goya.

هذه المدينة هي منطقة جذب سياحي رئيسية وتشهد سياحة ضخمة على مدار العام. لذلك إذا كنت مسافرًا شغوفًا وعاشقًا للفن ، فيمكنك السفر حتى في أوقات الوباء العالمي الذي نواجهه اليوم. على الرغم من أن ما يجب ألا تفوته هو الغذاء على ظهره صحية وصحية تساعدك على مقاومة العدوى أثناء الاستمتاع بالرحلة عبر مدينة سانتا في ، نيو مكسيكو.

وبالتالي ، فإن تسمية نيو مكسيكو الجميلة من شأنه أن يضع حواجز على جمالها ، لأنه ببساطة يتجاوز ذلك وربما لا يوجد شيء لن تجده في الولاية. كل هذا يجعل نيو مكسيكو واحدة من أفضل الأماكن للسياحة مع عدد لا يحصى من الأماكن للزيارة ، حتى أثناء الوباء العالمي الذي نواجهه حاليًا. نعم ، سمعت ذلك بشكل صحيح. التخطيط لرحلة الظهر إلى الوجهة هو ما يمكنك الذهاب إليه لكسر الرتابة في هذا الوقت.

الأسئلة الشائعة

ما هي أشهر حديقة حكومية في نيو مكسيكو؟

نصب بانديلير الوطني

كم عدد المتنزهات الوطنية في نيو مكسيكو؟

نيو مكسيكو لديها اثنين من المتنزهات الوطنية (Carlsbad Caverns ، White Sands) ، منتزهان تاريخيان وطنيان (Chaco Culture ، Pecos) ، منطقة تراثية وطنية (شمال ريو غراندي) ، و 11 معلمًا وطنيًا ، بما في ذلك أربعة تحت إدارة مكتب إدارة الأراضي (BLM).

الحدائق الوطنية نيو مكسيكو

نصب كاشا كاتوي للصخور الوطنية

نصب Kasha-Katuwe Tent Rocks National Monument هو مختبر رائع في الهواء الطلق ، ويوفر فرصة لمراقبة العمليات الجيولوجية التي تشكل المناظر الطبيعية ودراستها وتجربتها. النصب التذكاري الوطني ، على هضبة باجاريتو في شمال وسط نيو مكسيكو ، يتضمن مسارًا ترفيهيًا وطنيًا ويتراوح ارتفاعه من 5,570 قدمًا إلى 6,760 قدمًا فوق مستوى سطح البحر. إنه مخصص للسفر على الأقدام فقط ويحتوي على جزأين يوفران فرصًا للمشي لمسافات طويلة ومراقبة الطيور والمراقبة الجيولوجية وتحديد النباتات.

التكوينات الصخرية على شكل خيمة مخروطية هي نتاج الانفجارات البركانية التي حدثت منذ 6 إلى 7 ملايين سنة وتركت رواسب الخفاف والرماد والطف التي يزيد سمكها عن 1,000 قدم. أدت الانفجارات الهائلة من حقل Jemez البركاني إلى قذف الحمم البركانية (شظايا صخرية) ، بينما تطاير الغازات الساخنة الحارقة أسفل المنحدرات في انهيار جليدي متوهج يسمى تدفق الحمم البركانية.

تطفو بشكل غير مستقر على العديد من أغطية الرأس المستدقة عبارة عن أغطية صخرية تحمي الخفاف الأكثر ليونة والفتة الموجودة بالأسفل. فقدت بعض الخيام أغطية صخرية صلبة ومقاومة وتتفكك. في حين أن التكوينات الصخرية متجانسة الشكل إلى حد ما ، إلا أن التكوينات الصخرية للخيمة تختلف في الارتفاع من بضعة أقدام إلى 90 قدمًا.

bandelier National Monument المتنزهات الوطنية في نيو مكسيكو
7 حدائق وطنية في نيو مكسيكو - أفكار سفر رائعة 12

نصب بانديلير الوطني

يوفر نصب بانديلير الوطني لديها بنية تحتية تمكن أنواعًا عديدة من الناس من الاستمتاع بإحدى العجائب الأثرية في الولايات المتحدة. بيئة صديقة للأسرة مع مسارات يمكن للكراسي المتحركة الاستمتاع بها. يتطلب المشي بالقرب من الأنقاض وحولها مزيدًا من الحركة ولكن يمكن تقسيم الموقع إلى مسارات مختلفة والسماح للشخص الذي يريد زيارة جوانب مختلفة من الحديقة بالقيام بذلك في رحلات منفصلة بمرور الوقت.

يعد مسار الحلقة الرئيسي هو عامل الجذب الرئيسي ، وسيكون الوصول إلى كهف Alcove هو الأصعب بسبب السلالم الطويلة الكبيرة جدًا. في هذا المقال ، سأضع الحديقة وفقًا لكل قسم وأظهر كيف تبدو كل منطقة بالصور ومقاطع الفيديو.

يوفر الحديقة الوطنية في خدمة يمكن العثور على موقع النصب التذكاري هنا ، وإذا كنت ترغب في التنزه في الحديقة فهناك خريطة جيدة للبيع في محل الهدايا. تعد الخرائط والمعلومات المجانية رائعة بالنسبة إلى Pueblo Main Loop Trail وربما Alcove House ، لكن الباقي يحتاج إلى خريطة رائعة. لذا استمتع بالهواء النقي الرائع واستمتع بوقتك في استكشاف الحديقة.

هذه المحمية التي تبلغ مساحتها 33,677 فدانًا هي نصب بانديلير الوطني الذي يضم بعضًا من أكثر المناظر الطبيعية البركانية المذهلة والآثار الأثرية في الولاية. بعض البقايا من هذا الموقع القديم ، الذي كان في السابق موطنًا لأسلاف بويبلو الذين احتلوا المنطقة من 1150 إلى 1600 بعد الميلاد ، تشمل الهياكل المذهلة مثل المنحوتات الحجرية والمساكن المنحوتة من الصخور البركانية.

عرض النصب التذكاري الوطني للرمال البيضاء من أعلى الكثبان الرملية
عرض النصب التذكاري الوطني للرمال البيضاء من أعلى الكثبان الرملية.

حديقة وايت ساندز الوطنية

يأتي استكشاف الجنوب الغربي مع وفرة من الأماكن لاستكشافها. لا تختلف نيو مكسيكو عن أي شخص يحتاج فقط إلى إلقاء نظرة على الخريطة ، وهناك جنوب البوكيرك هو نصب وايت ساندز التذكاري الوطني. قدت سيارتي من الجنوب ، عبر ممر من الشرق إلى الغرب عبر الجانب العلوي من غابة لينكون الوطنية.

يقع أكبر حقل كثبان جبسي في العالم داخل نصب White Sands National Monument في نيو مكسيكو. تحتوي هذه المنطقة على كثبان بيضاء متلألئة داخل صحراء تشيهواهوان في منطقة حوض تولاروزا. يتراوح نطاق النصب التذكاري في الارتفاع حوالي 3,890 ′ إلى 4116 قدمًا فوق مستوى سطح البحر. تغطي الكثبان الرملية حوالي 275 ميلاً مربعاً ، ضمن مساحة 115 ميلاً مربعاً. تتحرك بعض الكثبان الرملية الأكثر نشاطًا عبر الشمال الشرقي بمعدل يصل إلى 30 قدمًا في السنة ، وتتحرك مناطق أخرى من الكثبان قليلاً جدًا بمرور الوقت بينما تتحرك المناطق الأكثر استقرارًا من الرمال قليلاً جدًا.

هذه الحديقة فريدة من نوعها ومغطاة بالكثبان الرملية. هناك مسارات يمكنك المشي فيها واستكشاف العجائب الطبيعية لبيئة مغطاة بالرمال البيضاء.

إليكم مقطع فيديو من رحلتي إلى نصب White Sands National Monument وفيه تفاصيل من شكله ومن تجربة شخصية حقيقية. لم يتم تنظيم أي شيء وأنا أبذل قصارى جهدي لأعطيك القارئ فكرة جيدة عما يمكن توقعه. أقوم أيضًا بتسجيل طريق الخروج من المتنزه لإعطاء فكرة عما يبدو عليه الطريق.

تأكد من تجهيز المستلزمات الخاصة بك لأن الجو حار وعاصف وجاف جدًا. يجب أن تغطي ملابسك بشرتك العارية إذا كنت حساسًا لحروق الشمس. من الضروري أيضًا توفير إمداد بالمياه سهل الوصول قبل وأثناء وبعد ذلك. تساعد القبعة الجيدة حقًا وتنعكس الشمس من الرمال ، لذلك وجدت هذا أمرًا بالغ الأهمية. كانت هناك حاجة أيضًا إلى أحذية يمكن تجفيفها من الرمال الساخنة ، وتوقفت عدة مرات لمجرد تجفيف الرمال منها. عادةً ما أرتدي قميصًا فضفاضًا قصير الأكمام ، في هذه البيئات ، لكن كان من الأفضل ارتداء قميص طويل الأكمام وخفيف الوزن.

تسافر Rinconada Canyon Petroglyphs في عام 2020
رينكونادا كانيون بتروجليفس

نصب بتروجليف الوطني

الصخور تذكار وطني يقدم بيئة فريدة حيث يمكن للمرء استكشاف ماضي الناس بويبلو والتمتع بنزهة رائعة في هذه العملية. المواقع مقسمة إلى ثلاثة مسارات منفصلة. يظهر كل واحد منهم نقوشًا حجرية مختلفة ويختلف في الحجم والنوع. يمكن رؤية بعضها عن قرب والبعض الآخر يتطلب عينًا ثاقبة. هذه الحروف الرسومية هي نتاج لآلاف إلى مئات السنين منذ أن أدركوا أن إزالة الطبقة العليا الرقيقة من الصخور البركانية ستترك وجودًا أبيض على خلفية سوداء مميزة.

كما ترون من جميع هذه المسارات الثلاثة التي يتكون منها النحت على الصخر تذكار وطني هم جزء ل حدائق البوكيرك الوطنية النظام الذي يحيط بالمنطقة. كل هذه الرحلات النهارية تتيح لك العودة إلى غرفتك بالفندق والراحة قبل العودة في الصباح للقيام بعدة رحلات أخرى. كل نقش هو رمز للأشخاص الذين عاشوا هنا ذات يوم ، وشكل من أشكال التواصل مع الناس في المستقبل. سيكون أسلافهم أيضًا شيئًا أرادوا رفعه بشكل ما ، وهذا التقطيع بعيدًا عن الطبقة السوداء العلوية من الصخور البركانية.

نصب بتروجليف الوطني
7 حدائق وطنية في نيو مكسيكو - أفكار سفر رائعة 13

أهم مسارات التنزه في البوكيرك

توجد بعض من أفضل مسارات المشي لمسافات طويلة في ألبوركيرك داخل هذه المنطقة من النقوش الصخرية وتشكل نصب Petroglyph الوطني ونظام الممرات. هذه المسارات قصيرة ويسهل إكمالها إلى حد ما ، والوقت من العام هو ما سيحدد إلى أي مدى يمكنك التنزه ، وما يمكنك القيام به في الأوقات الحارة من العام.

سلسلة من أربعة مواقع بها صخور بركانية سوداء. تحتوي بعض الصخور على نقوش صخرية ، ويحتوي أحد المواقع على ثلاثة براكين صغيرة.

حديقة تشاكو الثقافية التاريخية الوطنية بويبلو بونيتو
7 حدائق وطنية في نيو مكسيكو - أفكار سفر رائعة 14

حديقة تشاكو الثقافية التاريخية الوطنية

تم تصميم الحديقة بطريقين دائريين رئيسيين مع مناطق انسحاب تسمح لك بإيقاف سيارتك ثم التنزه على مسارات مختلفة. لقد وجدت أن التكوينات الصخرية مثيرة للإعجاب ، لكن أنقاض عمارة Pueblo Bonito Chacoan المعمارية الرائعة كانت ممتعة للغاية ومكانًا رائعًا لتصوير ثقافة Chacoan. غطى عالم تشاكون منطقة من الجنوب الغربي الحالي ، بما في ذلك حوض سان خوان في نيو مكسيكو وأجزاء من كولورادو ويوتا وأريزونا. استمر تأثيرهم لأكثر من 300 عام وشمل العديد من الشعوب في مجال نفوذها.

حديقة كهوف كارلسباد الوطنية
7 حدائق وطنية في نيو مكسيكو - أفكار سفر رائعة 15

موقع بويبلو بونيتو

يقع هذا الموقع على بعد أكثر بقليل من 4 أميال من مركز الزوار على طول Canyon Loop Drive. يعتبر هذا أهم موقع داخل الوادي ومنطقة يجب أن تفكر فيها في معرفة ما إذا كان لديك وقت قصير. يلتف السير على طول الممر حول موقع علم الآثار ويأخذك داخل أنقاض العمارة لشعوب تشاكو التي شيدت الموقع من عام 850 إلى 1150 بعد الميلاد. نصب بانديلير الوطني.

حديقة كهوف كارلسباد الوطنية

تعد حديقة Carlsbad Caverns الوطنية واحدة من أكثر المواقع زيارة في نيو مكسيكو. لديها ما يقرب من 120 من الكهوف المعروفة مخبأة معظمها تحت الأرض. منحوتة من الحجر الجيري الذي ترسب في بحر قديم ، والمناظر الطبيعية تحت الأرض تجذب الآلاف من السياح. وبالتالي ، إذا كنت من عشاق علم الآثار والطبيعة ، فقد يكون هذا علاجًا لك. إلى جانب ذلك ، يمكن للزوار أيضًا تجربة جولات الخفافيش والبعثات إلى كهوف معينة والمشي عبر التكوينات الجغرافية الرائعة.

هنا نظرًا لأنك تسافر وسط الوباء ، فمن المستحسن أن تأخذ معك أفضل طعام لحقائب الظهر للبقاء آمنين وصحيين أثناء الرحلة. هذه الوجبات مثالية للمشي لمسافات طويلة في الريف ويمكن الحفاظ عليها لفترة طويلة.

حواف البحر القديمة العالية ، والأخاديد الصخرية العميقة ، والصبار المزهر ، والحياة البرية الصحراوية - كنوز فوق الأرض في صحراء تشيهواهوا. يوجد تحت السطح أكثر من 119 كهفًا - تشكلت عندما يذيب حمض الكبريتيك الحجر الجيري تاركًا وراءه كهوفًا من جميع الأحجام.


الميزات الطبيعية والنظم البيئية

كان جيم وايت أول شخص معروف باستكشاف أعماق كهف كارلسباد.
كان جيم وايت أول شخص معروف باستكشاف أعماق كهف كارلسباد. تحتوي حديقة NPS / Willis T. LeeCavesCarlsbad Caverns الوطنية على أكثر من 119 كهفًا من الحجر الجيري تتميز بوفرة وتنوع وجمال تكويناتها. الكهوف بيئات هشة تتأثر بالأنشطة البشرية والعمليات الطبيعية تحت الأرض وعلى السطح. على الرغم من أن الكهوف هي مورد حساس غير متجدد ، إلا أنها مصدر مستمر للاستكشاف والاكتشاف. المزيد ...
يمكن أن تكون المنطقة الخلفية للحديقة وعرة للغاية ، كما هو موضح هنا في Yucca Canyon.
يمكن أن تكون المنطقة الخلفية للحديقة ، بما في ذلك Yucca Canyon ، شديدة الوعورة. أنتجت المياه والقوى الجيولوجية والتغيرات المناخية وامتدادات شاسعة من الزمن وتغيرت الشعاب الأحفورية وكهوفها الرائعة ، وهي عملية مستمرة حتى يومنا هذا. المزيد ...
يمكن أن تجعل زخات المطر صحراء تشيهواهوان تنبض بالحياة بالألوان على مدار العام.
يمكن لزخات المطر أن تجعل صحراء تشيهواهوان تنبض بالحياة مع الألوان على مدار العام. تكشف صحراء تشيهواهوان ، عند الفحص الدقيق ، عن عمليات طبيعية معقدة تؤدي إلى وفرة وتنوع مذهلين في الحياة النباتية والحيوانية. المزيد ...

حديقة بيكوس التاريخية الوطنية
حديقة بيكوس التاريخية الوطنية

حديقة بيكوس التاريخية الوطنية

نيو مكسيكو هي موطن لكثير من المواقع القديمة والتاريخية. ال بيكوس ناتيونياl Historical Park هو أحد هذه المواقع ، والذي يشمل ما كان سابقًا ، أحد أكبر Pueblos الأمريكيين الأصليين في الولاية. تعد الحديقة أيضًا موطنًا لساحة معركة الحرب الأهلية في Glorieta Pass والتي يمكن التجول فيها عبر مسار بطول 2.25 ميل بدون دليل.

تشتهر حديقة بيكوس التاريخية الوطنية ليس فقط بتاريخها الثقافي الغني ولكن أيضًا بمواردها الطبيعية. استكشف كل نوع من أنواع النباتات والحيوانات والجيولوجيا المختلفة التي تستدعي منزل بيكوس.

شكلت العمليات الجيولوجية السابقة والحالية وادي نهر بيكوس الأعلى ووفرة الموارد الطبيعية فيه. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، كان الوادي ممرًا هامًا للهجرة للأشخاص الذين يسافرون عبر المحطة الجنوبية لجبال روكي ، ويربطون السهول الكبرى بوادي ريو غراندي. منذ أكثر من 700 عام ، استقر شعب بويبلو على سلسلة من التلال في وسط الوادي كانت محاطة بمصادر المياه والأراضي الصالحة للزراعة ومواد البناء.

تقع حديقة Pecos National Historical Park في الجزء العلوي من وادي نهر Pecos الذي يحده من الشمال جبال Sangre de Cristo ، ومن الشرق سلسلة Tecolote وإلى الجنوب الغربي من Glorieta Mesa (المعروفة محليًا باسم Rowe Mesa). يبلغ متوسط ​​ارتفاع الوادي 7,000 قدم فوق مستوى سطح البحر ويشمل ما يقرب من 18 ميلاً مربعاً. يبلغ طول غلوريتا ميسا أكثر من 25 ميلاً ، وأعلى نقطة هي سيرو دي إسكوباس ترتفع 8,212 قدمًا فوق مستوى سطح البحر. يمكن أن يصل التضاريس الطبوغرافية بين قاع الوادي وقمة ميسا إلى أكثر من 1,000 قدم وتقسم المناظر الطبيعية بشكل كبير.

اترك تعليق

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني.

7 National Parks New Mexico – Great Travel Ideas

woods of the main loop trail Bandelier NAtional Monumentwoods of the main loop trail Bandelier NAtional Monument

woods of the main loop trail Bandelier NAtional Monument

National Parks New Mexico Travel Ideas during these unusual times here in the Southwest can help one enjoy the great outdoors and really help boost one’s overall health. Here is a list of great locations to travel to within New Mexico within the United States National Park system. The main city in New Mexico is Albuquerque and we will use this central location for travel time and as a central location or starting point.

The capital of Sante Fe

The capital of Sante Fe is also a great location for entering the northern half of the state. Great National monuments, forests, and parks are close by and accessible. Arguably one of the most beautiful and majestic, Santa Fe is one of the most popular and oldest cities in New Mexico and is also the capital of the state. The major cultural attractions of Santa Fe include the palace of the governor’s museum, located in the nation’s oldest public building with its permanent collection of more than 20000 artworks, including pieces of Ansell Adams, Georgia O’Keeffe, and Francisco de Goya.

This city is a major tourist attraction and sees massive tourism throughout the year. So if you are a passionate traveler and an art lover, you can travel even during the times of a global pandemic that we are facing today. Although what you must not miss is to backpack food that is healthy and hygienic which will help you resist the infection while enjoying the journey through the city of Santa Fe, New Mexico.

Thus, calling New Mexico beautiful would be putting barriers on its beauty, as it simply goes beyond that and there is probably nothing that you would not find in the state. All this makes New Mexico one of the best places for tourism with countless places to visit, even during the global pandemic that we are facing currently. Yes, you heard it right; planning a backpacking trip to the destination is what you can go for to break the monotony at this time.

FAQ

What is the most popular state park in New Mexico?

Bandelier National Monument

How many national parks are in New Mexico?

New Mexico has two national parks (Carlsbad Caverns, White Sands), two national historical parks (Chaco Culture, Pecos), one national heritage area (Northern Rio Grande), and 11 national monuments, including four administered by the Bureau of Land Management (BLM).

National Parks New Mexico

Kasha-Katuwe Tent Rocks National Monument

The Kasha-Katuwe Tent Rocks National Monument is a remarkable outdoor laboratory, offering an opportunity to observe, study, and experience the geologic processes that shape natural landscapes. The National Monument, on the Pajarito Plateau in north-central New Mexico, includes a national recreation trail and ranges from 5,570 feet to 6,760 feet above sea level. It is for foot travel only and contains two segments that provide opportunities for hiking, birdwatching, geologic observation, and plant identification.

The cone-shaped tent rock formations are the products of volcanic eruptions that occurred 6 to 7 million years ago and left pumice, ash, and tuff deposits over 1,000 feet thick. Tremendous explosions from the Jemez volcanic field spewed pyroclasts (rock fragments), while searing hot gases blasted down slopes in an incandescent avalanche called a pyroclastic flow.

Precariously perched on many of the tapering hoodoos are boulder caps that protect the softer pumice and tuff below. Some tents have lost their hard, resistant caprocks, and are disintegrating. While fairly uniform in shape, the tent rock formations vary in height from a few feet up to 90 feet.

7 National Parks New Mexico - Great Travel Ideas 12

Bandelier National Monument

The Bandelier National Monument has an infrastructure that enables many types of people to enjoy one of the United States Archeological wonders. A true family-friendly environment with paths that wheelchairs can even enjoy. Walking up close to and around the ruins does require more mobility but the site can be broken down into different trails and allowing the person who wants to visit different aspects of the park to do so on separate trips over time.

The main loop trail is the main attraction, and making it to the Alcove Cave would be the most difficult due to the very large tall ladders. In this article, I will lay out the park according to each of the sections and show what each area looks like with photographs and videos.

The National Park Service website of the monument can be found here, and if you do want to hike the park there is a good map for sale in the gift shop. The free maps and information are great for the Pueblo Main Loop Trail and maybe the Alcove House, but the rest will need a great map. So enjoy the great fresh air, and have a great time exploring the park.

This 33,677-acre preserve is the Bandelier National Monument which encompasses some of the most incredibly stunning volcanic landscapes and archaeological ruins in the state. A few remains from this ancient site, which was formerly the home of the ancestral Pueblo people who occupied the area from AD1150 to 1600, include astonishing structures like masonry carves and dwellings, carved out of the volcanic rock.

White Sands National Monument view from the top of sand dune.

White Sands National Park

Exploring the Southwest comes with an abundance of places to explore. New Mexico is no different one only needs to look at a map, and there south of Albuquerque is the White Sands National Monument. I drove in from the south, via an east to the west corridor through the top side of the Lincon National Forest.

The largest gypsum dune field in the world is located within the White Sands National Monument in New Mexico. This region has glistening white dunes within the Chihuahuan Desert in the Tularosa Basin area. The monument’s range in elevation is around 3,890′ to 4116′ feet above sea level. The sand dunes cover around 275 total square miles, within 115 square miles area. Some of the most active dunes move across the northeast at a rate of up to 30 feet per year, and other areas of the dunes move very little over time while the more stable areas of sand move very little.

This park is unique and is covered in sand dunes. There are trails that you can walk, and explore the natural wonder of an environment covered in white sand.

Here is a video from my trip to White Sands National Monument and it has details from what it looks like and from a real personal experience. Nothing is staged and I do my best to give you the reader a good idea of what to expect. I also record the road out of the park to give some idea of what it looks like from the road.

Make sure to have your supplies ready to go since it is hot, windy, and very dry. Your clothing should cover your bare skin if you are sensitive to sunburns. An easy-to-access supply of water is also necessary before, during, and after so have plenty. A good hat really helps and the sun reflects back up from the sand so I found this critical. Shoes that can be drained of hot sand were also needed, and I stopped several times to just drain them of sand. I normally wear a loose short sleeve shirt, in these environments but a long sleeve lightweight shirt would have been better.

Rinconada Canyon Petroglyphs

Petroglyph National Monument

The Petroglyphs National Monument presents a unique environment where one can explore the past of the Pueblo people and enjoy a great hike in the process. The sites are broken into three separate trails. Each of them shows different petroglyphs and varies in size and type. Some can be seen up close and others require a keen eye. These glyphs are the product of people from thousands to hundreds of years ago understanding that removing the thin top layer of volcanic rock will leave a white presence against a black distinct background.

As you can see from all three of these trails that make up the Petroglyph National Monument they are a part of the Albuquerque national parks system that surrounds the area. All of these are day hikes that allow you to go back to your hotel room and rest before being back in the morning for several more hikes. Each petroglyph is a symbol of the people who once lived here, and a form of communication to people of the future. Their ancestors would also be something they would have wanted to exalt in some form, and this chipping away of the top black layer of volcanic rock.

7 National Parks New Mexico - Great Travel Ideas 13

Top hiking trails in Albuquerque

Some of the best Alburquerque hiking trails are within this area of petroglyphs and make up the Petroglyph National Monument and trail system. These trails are short and fairly easy to complete, and the time of year is what will determine how far you can hike, and what you can do in the hotter times of the year.

A series of four sites that has black volcanic rock. Some of the rocks have petroglyphs, and one of the sites has three small volcanoes.

7 National Parks New Mexico - Great Travel Ideas 14

Chaco Culture National Historical Park

The park is laid out with two main loop roads with pullout areas that allow you to park your vehicle and then hike out on different trails. I found the rock formations to be impressive, but the ruins of the Pueblo Bonito Chacoan great house architecture to be very interesting and a great place to photograph the Chacoan culture. The Chacoan world covered an area of the present-day Southwest, that included the San Juan Basin of New Mexico, and portions of Colorado, Utah, and Arizona. Their influence lasted for over 300 years and included many peoples within its sphere of influence.

7 National Parks New Mexico - Great Travel Ideas 15

The Pueblo Bonito Site

This site is located a little more than 4 miles from the Visitor Center along the Canyon Loop Drive. This is considered the most important site within the canyon and an area you must consider seeing if you are on a short supply of time. The walk along the trail wraps around the archeology site and takes you within the ruins of the architecture of the Chaco peoples who constructed the site from ​​AD 850 to AD 1150. The Chaco people were also ancestral Puebloan peoples similar to the people of the Bandelier National Monument.

Carlsbad Caverns National Park

The Carlsbad Caverns National park is one of the most visited sites in New Mexico. It has approximately 120 known caves hidden mostly underground. Carved from limestone which is deposited in an ancient Sea, its underground landscape attracts thousands of tourists. Thus, if you are an enthusiast of archaeology and nature, this can be a treat for you. Besides, visitors can also experience bat tours, expeditions to specific caves, and walks through wondrous geographical formations.

Here since you are traveling amidst the pandemic, it is recommended to take along the best backpacking food to stay safe and healthy during the journey. Such meals are perfect for backcountry hikes and can be preserved for quite a long time.

High ancient sea ledges, deep rocky canyons, flowering cactus, and desert wildlife—treasures above the ground in the Chihuahuan Desert. Hidden beneath the surface are more than 119 caves—formed when sulfuric acid dissolved limestone leaving behind caverns of all sizes.


Natural Features & Ecosystems


Jim White was the first person known to explore the depths of Carlsbad Cavern.NPS/Willis T. LeeCavesCarlsbad Caverns National Park contains more than 119 limestone caves that are outstanding in the profusion, diversity, and beauty of their formations. Caves are fragile environments that are affected by human activities and natural processes both underground and on the surface. Although caves are a delicate non-renewable resource, they are a continual source of exploration and discovery. more…

The park’s backcountry, including Yucca Canyon, can be extremely rugged.NPS photoGeologyCarlsbad Caverns National Park preserves a portion of the Capitan Reef—one of the best-preserved, exposed Permian-age fossil reefs in the world. Water, geologic forces, climactic changes, and vast spans of time have produced and changed the fossil reef and its spectacular caves, a process that continues to the present day. more…

Rain showers can make the Chihuahuan Desert come alive with color throughout the year.NPS photoChihuahuan DesertCarlsbad Caverns National Park contains one of the few protected portions of the northern Chihuahuan Desert ecosystem. The Chihuahuan Desert reveals, upon close examination, complex natural processes that yield an astounding abundance and diversity of plant and animal life. more…

Pecos National Historical Park

Pecos National Historical Park

New Mexico is home to a lot of ancient and historical sites. The Pecos National Historical Park is one such site, which encompasses what was once, one of the largest Native American Pueblos in the state. The park is also home to the civil war battlefield of Glorieta Pass which can be toured through a 2.25-mile trail, without a guide.

Pecos National Historical Park is known not only for its rich cultural history but also for its natural resources. Explore each of the different types of flora, fauna, and geology that call Pecos home.

Past and present geological processes shaped the upper Pecos River Valley and its abundance of natural resources. In addition, the valley has been a significant migration corridor for people traveling the southern terminus of the Rocky Mountains, connecting the Great Plains with the Rio Grande Valley. Over 700 years ago, Pueblo people settled on a ridge in the middle of the valley that was surrounded by water sources, farmable land and building materials.

Pecos National Historical Park is situated in the upper Pecos River Valley which is bound to the north by the Sangre de Cristo Mountains, to the east by the Tecolote Range and to the south-southwest by Glorieta Mesa (known locally as Rowe Mesa). The valley has an average elevation of 7,000 feet above sea level and encompasses roughly 18 square miles. Glorieta Mesa is over 25 miles long, and the highest point, Cerro de Escobas is 8,212 feet above sea level. The topographic relief between the valley floor and mesa top can be over 1,000 feet and dramatically divides the landscape.

Related Post