انتقل إلى المحتوى

# 1 المشهود لها عالميا شجرة الجميز في إسرائيل

جدول المحتويات

أشجار الجميز القديمة
شجرة الجميز أو شجرة التين الجميز

شجرة الجميز في إسرائيل القديمة بالفيديو

شجرة الجميز ، وهي نوع قديم من شجرة التين ، مذهلة. كما أنها مرتبطة بشجرة التوت. هناك عدة أنواع من شجرة التين التي تقع تحت شجرة الجميز. يتم أحيانًا تهجئة هذا النوع المعين من شجرة الجميز Sycamore ، للتمييز عن الأنواع الأخرى من التين. تم العثور على هذا النوع من شجرة الجميز في مدغشقر ومصر وإسرائيل. تمت زراعة هذا الجميز العملاق منذ العصور القديمة.

"أولاً ، دعنا نضع بعض الأساسيات حول هذه الشجرة. شجرة الجميز هي شجرة متساقطة الأوراق تنتمي إلى عائلة شجرة الطائرة. نشأت هذه الشجرة من أوروبا ، ولكن تم نقلها إلى جميع أنحاء العالم الآن.

حقائق الأسئلة الشائعة حول شجرة الجميز الأساسية:

ما هو اسم شجرة الجميز في الولايات المتحدة؟

الجميز أمريكا الشمالية

ما هو اسم شجرة الجميز في أوروبا؟

الجميز البريطاني

ما هو اسم شجرة الجميز في اسرائيل؟

الجميز الشرق أوسطي.

ما هو حجم شجرة الجميز؟

يمكن أن يصل ارتفاع الجميز إلى 98 إلى 130 قدمًا وقطرًا من 4.9 إلى 6.6 قدم.

ما هو لون لحاء شجرة الجميز؟

لحاء الجميز سطح مائل إلى البياض والبني المحمر.

ما هو شكل لحاء الجميز؟

اللحاء المرقش يحتوي على "قشور" غير منتظمة تخلق انطباعًا بوجود مرض.

لماذا يطلق على شجرة الجميز اسم الجميز؟

ربما يشير اسم "الجميز" إلى المظهر "المريض" للشجرة.

كيف تبدو أوراق شجرة الجميز متشابهة؟

للجميز أوراق عريضة خماسية الفصوص ذات أطراف مدببة. الأوراق مسننة على الحواف. تتحول الأوراق الخضراء الداكنة إلى اللون الأصفر الفاتح في بداية الخريف. بعد فترة وجيزة ، تلقي بهم الشجرة.

ما هو شكل شجرة الجميز؟

الجميز له تاج مستدير على شكل قبة كثيف للغاية. توفر الفروع الملتوية مأوى للثدييات الصغيرة مثل السناجب والطيور المختلفة (خلال موسم التعشيش)

كيف تتكاثر شجرة الجميز؟

الجميز هو نبات أحادي النوع مما يعني أنه ينتج أزهارًا من الذكور والإناث في نفس النبات. الزهور خضراء مصفرة ، مرتبة في مجموعات متدلية. تزهر الجميز خلال شهر أبريل. تنتج الأزهار الرحيق الذي يجذب النحل والملقحات الرئيسية لهذا النوع.

كيف تبدو فاكهة شجرة الجميز؟

ثمرة الجميز عبارة عن كرات خشبية بنية اللون يمكن رؤيتها على الشجرة بدءًا من شهر أكتوبر. يبقون على الشجرة خلال فصل الشتاء. تنقسم الثمار الناضجة تمامًا لتحرير البذور.

كيف تنتج شجرة الجميز البذور؟

يتم ترتيب بذرة الجميز في أزواج على شكل حرف V ومجهزة بأجنحة تسهل انتشارها بفعل الرياح. تنتج شجرة واحدة ما يصل إلى 10.000 بذرة في الموسم الواحد.

ماذا تسمى بذور شجرة الجميز؟

تُعرف بذور الجميز باسم "المروحيات" بسبب أجنحتها التي تدور بشكل مشابه لمروحة الهليكوبتر في مهب الريح.

ما هي شجرة الجميز المعروفة خلال حرب استقلال الولايات المتحدة؟

وفرت إحدى أشجار الجميز القديمة الحماية للقوات الكبيرة للجنرال واشنطن خلال معركة برانديواين باتلفيلد بارك في بنسلفانيا في القرن الثامن عشر. منذ أن أصبحت شجرة الجميز رمزًا للأمل والحماية في الولايات المتحدة.

ماذا ترمز شجرة الجميز؟

يرمز الجميز أيضًا إلى القوة والخلود والألوهية.

ما هو خشب شجرة الجميز المستخدم؟

يستخدم خشب الجميز في صناعة الأثاث والآلات الموسيقية وأدوات المطبخ وكتل الجزارين.

لماذا تستخدم شجرة الجميز في البيئات الحضرية؟

غالبًا ما يُزرع الجميز في المناطق الحضرية نظرًا لقدرته على تحمل تلوث الهواء وتوفير الظل.

لماذا تستخدم شجرة الجميز كمصدات للرياح؟

يعمل الجميز أيضًا كمصد للرياح بفضل نظام الجذر القوي الذي يثبت النبات بقوة على الأرض في المناطق ذات الرياح القوية.

كم عمر يمكن أن تصل شجرة الجميز؟

يمكن أن يعيش الجميز من 150 إلى 600 عام في البرية ". (1 سوفت سكولز)

شجرة الجميز في إسرائيل

وهي تختلف في الحجم ، ولون اللحاء والأوراق ، والموائل من حيث يمكن العثور عليها. يتطلب الجميز تربة خصبة ورطبة وجيدة التصريف. هناك حاجة أيضًا إلى الشمس الكاملة حتى تنجح هذه الشجرة في التنمية. ينمو عادة بالقرب من الجداول وضفاف الأنهار والبحيرات. يزرع الناس عادة الجميز لأغراض الزينة ، لكنه معروف جيدًا كمصدر للخشب عالي الجودة.

هذا التنوع من شجرة الجميز هو شجرة كبيرة للغاية. على الرغم من أن الجذع يشبه شجرة الزيتون ، إلا أنه يمكنك التعرف عليها من خلال أوراقها. لها جذع جميل سميك ومعقد وأوراق متقشرة كبيرة جدًا. يُعتقد أن هذه الأوراق الضخمة المصنوعة من الجلد ربما كانت أوراق التين المشار إليها في سفر التكوين. في تكوين 3: 7 تقول: "ثم انفتحت عينا كلاهما وأدركا أنهما عريانين. فقاموا بخياطة أوراق التين معًا وصنعوا أغطية لأنفسهم ". يبدو أن العلماء وعلماء الآثار وعلماء الدين يتفقون جميعًا على أن هذا هو أكثر أنواع شجرة التين احتمالية التي كان يمكن أن يشير إليها كتاب سفر التكوين. إنها النوع الوحيد من شجرة التين التي هي موطنها الأصلي في الشرق الأوسط. وهي أيضًا شجرة الجميز الوحيدة التي تحتوي على أوراق أكبر من الأوراق العادية.

شجرة الجميز في إسرائيل القديمة
شجرة التين الجميز

شجرة الجميز في مصر القديمة

تم العثور على بقايا شجرة الجميز في مصر حتى تاريخ 3000 قبل الميلاد. استخدم المصريون هذه الأشجار العملاقة لنحت توابيت المومياوات في مصر. كانت الشجرة الوحيدة التي كان لها الحجم المطلوب لصنع هذه التوابيت. في مصر القديمة ، كانت شجرة الجميز تسمى "تين فرعون". يشار إلى مصر نفسها باسم "الأرض التي تزهر فيها شجرة الجميز". لعبت شجرة الجميز أهمية كبيرة في الإمداد الغذائي لمصر القديمة. لم يتم استخدام الخشب فحسب ، بل تمت زراعة جميع أجزاء الشجرة أيضًا. كانت الفاكهة جيدة للأكل! جعلت الأوراق شاي الشفاء! صنع النسغ شراب حلو! توفر الجذوع العملاقة الملاذ. كان "تين فرعون" مصدرًا رائعًا لقدماء المصريين.

الكتابات العبرية وشجرة الجميز

في الكتابات العبرية القديمة ، كانت شجرة الجميز ترمز إلى "التجديد". عند زراعة شجرة الجميز ، يجب أن تقوم بذلك بسرعة ، حيث تجف الجذور بسرعة كبيرة. من ناحية أخرى ، تتمتع شجرة الجميز بقدرة مذهلة على تجديد نفسها. إذا غطى الرمل أحد فروعه ، فإنه سيؤسس جذورًا جديدة ويعيد إنتاج شجرة جديدة بالكامل. في العصور القديمة ، كانت هذه الأشجار تعتبر ذات أهمية قصوى في إسرائيل. في زمن داود ، نرى أنه عيّن مشرفًا خاصًا على شجرتي الزيتون والجميز (1 أخبار 27:28).

شجرة الجميز في إسرائيل القديمة
شجرة الجميز

حدثت عملية التزهير والإثمار لشجرة الجميز في إسرائيل القديمة خلال أشهر الصيف الحارة. على الرغم من أنه لم يكن من غير المعتاد الحصول على ما يصل إلى 6 محاصيل سنويًا من كل شجرة (كتابات التلمود). كان التين الموجود في شجرة الجميز يؤكل في العصور القديمة. في زمن داود ، كانت الجميز تعتبر من مصادر الطعام التي دمرتها الأوبئة في مصر. راجع المزامير ٧٨: ٤٧. في العصر الحديث ، هناك العديد من أشجار التين الأخرى ذات نوعية أفضل من الفاكهة. لهذا السبب ، لا يتم استخدام الجميز كثيرًا في إسرائيل الحديثة.

شجرة الجميز والثقافة العالمية

في دين قبيلة كيكويو في كينيا ، كان هناك إله واحد فقط. أشاروا إليه باسم نجاي. كانت العديد من الذبائح مماثلة لتلك التي قام بها الإسرائيليون في العصور القديمة. قامت قبيلة كيكويو بكل تضحياتهم تحت شجرة الجميز. يعتبر كل من الجميز وشجرة التين مقدسين. تعتبر شجرة الزيتون مقدسة عند النساء.

في الثقافات الأخرى ، تم استخدام خشب شجرة الجميز للأواني والأوعية والسلال وألواح التقطيع وما إلى ذلك. تستخدم الأوراق الكبيرة لتغليف الطعام للطبخ ومثل أوراق التين يمكن استخدامها للشاي. الفاكهة جيدة للأكل ، لكن أشجار التين الحديثة بها ثمار عالية الجودة.

كانت شجرة الجميز المذهلة مهمة طوال زمن الأنبياء. يظهر في كثير من كتاباتهم على مر العصور. لا يبدو أنه كان هناك أي عمر لم يكن فيه الجميز مهمًا لشيء ما. أوراقها مصدر للطب. يصنع خشبها أواني مطبخ متينة. عصارتها تصنع شراب حلو! جذعها الجميل مذهل. في أوقات الطوارئ ، لجأ الناس إلى داخل هذا الصندوق. هذا الجذع المذهل أجوف في الأشجار الكبيرة. ما هي الأشجار الأخرى في تاريخ الإنسان التي يمكن استخدامها للعديد من الأشياء المختلفة؟ تعتبر شجرة الجميز القديمة في الشرق الأوسط واحدة من أكثر الأشجار بروزًا في كل العصور.

شجرة الجميز في إسرائيل القديمة
شجرة الجميز أريحا

أشجار الجميز أريحا اليوم

هذه الشجرة بالذات لا تزال قائمة داخل مدينة أريحا ، والباعة المتجولون السياحيون موجودون. يمكن أن تكون بعض العناصر المعروضة للبيع فريدة من نوعها ويجب أن تفكر في أخذ بعض الكنوز إلى المنزل. كان لدينا متسع من الوقت ، وهناك بعض الأماكن الممتعة التي يمكنك رؤيتها أثناء تواجدك في المنطقة.

أريحا وشجرة الجميز القديمة

اكتشف شجرة الجميز في العالم القديم.

أريحا هي مدينة فلسطينية صغيرة حية وحيوية في وادي الأردن. إنها أقدم مدينة في العالم. يعود تاريخ المدينة إلى 8,000 سنة قبل الميلاد. لقد تم احتلالها دائمًا منذ العصور القديمة. وهي أيضًا أدنى مدينة في العالم. تقع أريحا على ارتفاع 780 قدمًا تحت مستوى سطح البحر. إنها واحة وادي الأردن! هذا هو العام الذي يوشك فيه إجراء عملية تجميل أخرى. إنهم يعيدون التركيز على شجرة الجميز الجميلة التي تسلقها زكا لإلقاء نظرة أفضل على يسوع. نقرأ عن هذا اللقاء في الأناجيل.

"فدخل يسوع وعبر في أريحا. واذا رجل اسمه زكا كان رئيس العشارين وكان غنيا. وسعى لرؤية يسوع ... لكنه لم يستطع بسبب الجمع ، لأنه كان قصير القامة. وركض للأمام وصعد إلى أ شجرة الجميز لرؤيته: لأنه كان يجب أن يمر بهذه الطريقة. ولما جاء يسوع إلى المكان نظر إليه ونظره وقال له: ((زكا ، أسرع وانزل. لاني اليوم يجب ان اسكن في بيتك. " لوقا 19: 1-5

أريحا شجرة الجميز لسنوات مطوي بعيدًا في شارع جانبي. حتى عام 2010 تم إبعاده عن أعين السياح. جاؤوا والتقطوا صورة وغادروا! لكن هذا كان يتغير. أصبح الآن عامل الجذب الرئيسي لمجمع المتاحف. تم افتتاح هذا المجمع في عام 2010 ويشهد كل شهر إضافات جديدة. هذا هو عيد ميلاد أريحا وهذه شجرة الجميز القديمة على وشك أن تكون نقطة جذب النجوم.

يتم الترويج لفلسطين في العالم كمكان نأتي إليه. يتضمن هذا المشروع الضخم أيضًا خططًا مستقبلية لمنتجع 5 نجوم رئيسي سيتم بناؤه على ضفاف البحر الميت. في المستقبل ، هناك أمل في بناء مطار رئيسي في المنطقة. البلدة مشغولة بالتنظيف والرسم. يتم قطع الساحات وتشذيبها. هذه البلدة الفلسطينية الرائعة تخضع لعملية تجميل. إنها تستعد للاحتفال بعيد ميلاد ضخم آخر. عيد ميلاد سعيد يا أريحا!

لطالما كان الطريق إلى أريحا طريقًا ريفيًا مليئًا بالحفر! الآن هو طريق سريع مكون من أربع حارات! قبل ذلك كان هناك نقطة تفتيش إسرائيلية تدخل البلدة. الآن يأتي الجميع ويذهب بحرية! لم يعد هذا يبطئ حركة المرور ولم يردع السائحون عن المجيء. الأشياء تحدث وأريحا تشارك كنوزًا أخرى من كنوزها مع العالم. أرحب بأحدث جاذبيتها. شجرة الجميز.

يتم عرض تاريخ شجرة الجميز في المنطقة في المتحف الجديد. تستعد المطاعم المحلية لاستقبال الحجاج الإضافيين القادمين إلى المنطقة. لم تعد الشجرة التي صعدها زكا إلى الشارع الجانبي. قصة كيف تسلق زكا شجرة الجميز حتى يتمكن من رؤية يسوع ، تُروى الآن للعالم. هذا الاحتفال بعيد ميلاد آخر لأقدم مدينة في العالم ، وستكون قصة زكا والشجرة التي تسلقها محور الاهتمام. فلسطين تدعوكم للانضمام إليهم في أريحا عند سفح… .. شجرة الجميز.

أريحا وشجرة الجميز القديمة

شجرة الجميز أريحا

داخل منطقة مجمع منطقة تل أريحا ، هناك العديد من المجالات ذات الاهتمام والباعة الذين يبيعون المشغولات اليدوية الفلسطينية الفريدة. تل أريحا موقع أثري في المنطقة الشمالية الشرقية من أريحا يُعرف أيضًا باسم الريحا ويريحو وتل السلطان وإريحا. يقع التل اليوم ضمن مواقع التراث العالمي لليونسكو التي تديرها السلطة الفلسطينية في الضفة الغربية. يقع الموقع في وادي الأردن على بعد 10 كيلومترات شمال البحر الميت ، وهو قريب من نبع عين السلطان. المصطلح المعروف لنافورة أليشع مأخوذ من مرجع كتابي ويمكن العثور عليه في مكان قريب. ستحتاج إلى إذن خاص لعرض البئر القديم جدًا وإمدادات المياه في المدينة.

ينبوع أليشع في أريحا

ينبوع أليشع ، وهو واحة وسط أريحا القديمة ، جميل وواضح. عندما تقترب من الربيع ، تلاحظ أنه يعج بالأسماك. هذا هو المكان الذي يتدفق فيه حجم هائل من الماء الدافئ الصافي. وهي مظللة بشجرة تين قديمة وحيدة. في أماكن أخرى ، سترى ممرات مائية صغيرة يوجه فيها السكان المحليون المياه. بهذه الطريقة ، يتم ري المحاصيل حتى يومنا هذا. في الصورة أعلاه ، نرى هذا الربيع حيث يخرج من الأرض في محطة الضخ. تحمي محطة الضخ هذا الينابيع المتدفقة القديمة. تضخ المياه العذبة النقية إلى مدينة أريحا الحديثة. ينبوع أليشع لا يزال حلوًا! يمكنك أن ترى كم هو واضح وضوح الشمس! تقع هذه المناطق الرائعة في أريحا ، وهي مدينة أشجار النخيل منذ العصور القديمة (تثنية 34: 3).

يمكنك معرفة المزيد من خلال مشاهدة هذا المنشور: ينبوع أليشع

"يعتقد أن أريحا هي واحدة من أقدم المدن في العالم التي ظلت إلى الأبد يسكنها من القرن العاشر قبل الميلاد. تم تحديد موقع تل أريحا بأريحا القديمة المذكورة في الوثائق التاريخية والإنجيل. اليوم يمكن للزوار في الموقع مشاهدة الهياكل المحفورة التي شكلت في يوم من الأيام جوهر مدينة أريحا.

تحتوي هذه المنطقة من تل أريحا على كمية هائلة من المعلومات والمجالات ذات الأهمية التاريخية. إذا كنت ترغب في معرفة المزيد عن هذا المجال ، ووقتنا هناك يمكنك قراءة هذا المنشور الأخير.

مغامرات الشرق الأوسط: الأسبوع الأول في القدس ، أريحا ، بحيرة طبريا

الأشجار في إسرائيل القديمة

نعم ، منذ زمن بعيد كانت جزءًا من تلك الإمبراطورية القديمة. وهي اليوم جزء من الأراضي الفلسطينية التي تسيطر عليها حركة فتح التابعة للسلطة الوطنية الفلسطينية. قبل أن تكون من إسرائيل القديمة ، كانت حتى مدينة كنعانية مبكرة يعيش فيها أناس منذ 11,000 عام أو ربما قبل ذلك. استولت العديد من الإمبراطوريات على أريحا ، وجعلتها جغرافيتها جوهرة لكل إمبراطورية قديمة للسيطرة عليها. نحن مهتمون أكثر بالتاريخ وليس بسياسة العصر الحديث. لكن نعم نحن ندرك حساسية الموضوع عند استخدامه بالمصطلحات الحديثة. أرغب في العودة وإجراء بعض الأبحاث في علم الآثار لهذا الموقع وآمل أن أتمكن يومًا ما من الحصول على التمويل للقيام بذلك.

أيضًا ، قد تؤدي دراسة أخرى حول كيفية ارتكاب هذه الشجرة في المنطقة إذا كان من الممكن معرفتها جنبًا إلى جنب مع حركة الجنس البشري إلى إلقاء قدر هائل من البحث. إن الأشكال العديدة للزراعة واستخداماتها هي التي ميزت الجميز بعيدًا عن أشجار الزراعة الأخرى.

للحصول على معلومات حول رعاية شجرة الجميز الخاصة بك ، راجع هذه المقالة الرائعة في خبرة في البستنة العناية بالشجرة الجميز

إكتشفي
استكشف

استكشف

 

إذا كنت مهتمًا بمعرفة المزيد عن أشجار الجميز من منطقة تل أريحا و / أو من منطقة إسرائيل ، فإليك بعض الكلمات الرئيسية التي يمكنك البحث عنها داخل Google للحصول على معلومات إضافية.

 
 

شجرة الجميز في إسرائيل القديمة

اقتباسات:
  1. سوفت سكولز. "حقائق عن شجرة الجميز." Softschools.com، Softschools ، www.softschools.com/facts/plants/sycamore_tree_facts/1209/.
KTL

Ancient Sycamore Trees
sycamore tree or sycamore fig tree

Sycamore Tree In Ancient Israel With Video

The Sycamore Tree, an ancient species of the Fig Tree, is amazing. It is also related to the Mulberry Tree. There are several species of the Fig Tree that comes under the Sycamore Tree. This particular species of the Sycamore Tree is sometimes spelled Sycamore, for distinction from the other Fig species. This species of the Sycamore Tree is found in Madagascar, Egypt, and Israel. This gigantic  Sycamore has been cultivated since ancient times.

“First let’s get some basics about this tree laid out. The Sycamore tree is a deciduous tree that belongs to the plane tree family. This tree has originated from Europe, but it has been taken all around the world now.

Basic Sycamore Tree FAQ Facts:

What is the name of the Sycamore Tree in the United States?

North American Sycamore

What is the name of the Sycamore tree in Europe?

British sycamore

What is the name of the sycamore tree in Israel?

Middle Eastern sycamore.

How big does the sycamore tree get?

Sycamore can reach 98 to 130 feet in height and 4.9 to 6.6 feet in diameter.

What color is the sycamore tree bark?

The Bark of sycamore has a whitish and reddish-brown patched surface.

What does the sycamore bark look like?

The mottled bark has irregular “flakes” creating the impression of an illness.

Why does the sycamore tree called by the name sycamore?

The name “sycamore” probably refers to the “sick” appearance of the tree.

What do the sycamore tree leaves look like?

Sycamore has broad, five-lobed leaves with pointed tips. Leaves are toothed on the edges. Dark green leaves change color into bright yellow at the beginning of the autumn. Soon after, the tree sheds them.

What is the shape of the sycamore tree?

Sycamore has a rounded, dome-shaped crown that is extremely dense. Twisted branches provide shelter for the small mammals such as squirrels and various birds (during the nesting season)

How does the sycamore tree reproduce?

Sycamore is a monoecious plant which means that it produces individual male and female flowers on the same plant. Flowers are yellowish-green, arranged in drooping clusters. Sycamore blooms during April. Flowers produce nectar which attracts bees, main pollinators of this species.

What does the sycamore tree fruit look like?

The fruit of sycamore is brown, woody balls that can be seen on the tree starting from October. They remain on the tree during the winter. Fully ripe fruit splits to release seed.

How does the sycamore tree produce seeds?

The seed of sycamore is arranged in V-shaped pairs and equipped with wings that facilitate dispersal by wind. One tree produces up to 10.000 seeds per season.

What is the sycamore tree seed called?

Sycamore seed is known as “helicopters” because of their wings that rotate similar to helicopter’s propeller on a wind.

What is the sycamore tree known for during the United States war of independence?

One old sycamore tree provided protection for the large troops of General Washington during the battle on the Brandywine Battlefield Park in Pennsylvania in the 18th century. Ever since the sycamore tree is a symbol of hope and protection in the USA.

What does the sycamore tree symbolize?

Sycamore also symbolized strength, eternity and divinity.

What is sycamore tree wood used for?

The wood of sycamore is used in the industry of furniture, musical instruments, kitchenware, and butchers’ blocks.

Why is the sycamore tree used in urban environments?

Sycamore is often planted in urban areas because of its ability to tolerate air pollution and provide shade.

Why is the sycamore tree used as a windbreak?

Sycamore also serves as windbreak thanks to the strong root system that holds the plant firmly attached to the ground in areas with strong winds.

How old can a sycamore tree get?

Sycamore can survive from 150 to 600 years in the wild.” (1 Softschools)

The Sycamore Tree In Israel

They differ in size, the color of the bark and leaves, and habitats from where they can be found. Sycamore requires very fertile, moist, and well-drained soil. Full sun is also needed for this tree to be successful in development. It normally grows near streams, riverbanks, and lakes. People typically cultivate sycamore for ornamental purposes, but it is well known as a source of high-quality wood.

This variety of the Sycamore Tree is an extremely large tree. Though the trunk is similar to the Olive Tree, you can identify them by their leaves. It has a beautiful thick and knotted trunk and very large scaly leaves. These huge large leathery leaves are thought to have possibly been the fig leaves referred to in the book of Genesis. In Genesis 3:7 it says: “Then the eyes of both of them were opened, and they realized they were naked; so they sewed fig leaves together and made coverings for themselves.” Scientists, archaeologists, and religious scholars all seem to agree that this is the most likely species of the Fig Tree that the book of Genesis could have been referring to.  It is the only species of the Fig Tree that is native to the Middle East. It is also the only Sycamore Tree that has larger than normal leaves.

sycamore tree in ancient israel
Sycamore fig tree

The Sycamore Tree In Ancient Egypt

The remains of the Sycamore Tree in Egypt have been found to date back as far as 3000 BC. These gigantic trees were used by the Egyptians to carve out coffins for the mummies in Egypt. It was the only tree that had the size needed to make these coffins. In ancient Egypt, the Sycamore Tree was called the “Fig of Pharaoh.” Egypt itself was referred to as “the land where the Sycamore Tree blooms.” The Sycamore Tree played major importance in the food supply of ancient Egypt. Not only was the wood used, but all parts of the tree were also cultivated. The fruit was good to eat! The leaves made a healing tea! The sap made a sweet syrup! The gigantic trunks provided refuge. The “Fig of Pharaoh” was an amazing resource for the ancient Egyptians.

Hebraic writings And The Sycamore Tree

In ancient Hebraic writings, the Sycamore Tree symbolized “regeneration.” When transplanting a Sycamore Tree, you must do it quickly, as the roots dry out very rapidly. On the other hand, the Sycamore Tree has an amazing ability to regenerate itself. If the sand covers one of its branches, it will establish new roots and reproduce a whole new tree. During ancient times, these trees were considered extremely important in Israel. In the time of David, we see that he appointed a special overseer for the Olive and Sycamore Trees (1 Chronicle 27:28).

sycamore tree in ancient israel
sycamore tree

Flowering and fruiting of the Sycamore Tree in ancient Israel occurred during the hot summer months. Though it was not unusual to get up to 6 crops a year from each tree (Talmud writings). The figs of the Sycamore Tree were eaten in ancient times. During the time of David, the Sycamores were considered one of the sources of food that was destroyed by the plagues in Egypt. See Psalms 78:47. In modern times, there are many other Fig Trees with a better quality of fruit. For this reason, the Sycamore is not often used in modern Israel.

The Sycamore Tree And world culture

In the religion of the Kikuyu Tribe of Kenya, there was only one God. They referred to Him as Ngai. Many of the sacrifices were similar to the ones done by the Israelite’s in ancient times. The Kikuyu Tribe did all their sacrifices under the Sycamore Tree. Both the Sycamore and the Fig Tree were considered sacred. The Olive Tree was considered sacred for women.

In other cultures, the wood of the Sycamore Tree was used for utensils, bowls, baskets, cutting boards, etc. The sap of the Sycamore can be used for syrup, similar, but of a lower quality than the sugar maple. The large leaves are used to wrap food for cooking and like fig leaves, can be used for tea.  The fruit is good to eat, but modern fig trees have a higher quality fruit.

The amazing Sycamore Tree has been important throughout the time of the prophets. It appears in many of their writings throughout the ages. There does not appear to be any age when the Sycamore was not important for something. Its leaves are a source of medicine. Its wood make sturdy kitchen vessels. Its sap makes a sweet syrup! Its beautiful trunk is amazing. In times of emergency, people have sought refuge inside this trunk. This amazing trunk is hollow in the larger trees. What other trees in the history of man can be used for so many different things? The ancient Sycamore tree of the Middle East is one of the most outstanding trees of all time.

sycamore tree in ancient israel
sycamore tree Jericho

The Jericho Sycamore Trees Of Today

This particular tree is still standing within the city of Jericho, and the tourist peddlers are out in force. Some of the items for sale can be unique and you should consider taking a few treasures home. We had plenty of time, and there are some interesting places to see while you’re in the area.

Jericho And The Ancient Sycamore Tree

Discover the Sycamore tree of the ancient world.

Jericho is a living,  vibrate small Palestinian town in the Jordan Valley. It is the world’s oldest town. The town dates back to 8,000 BC. It has always been occupied since ancient times.  It is also the lowest town in the world. Jericho is  780 feet below sea level. It is a Jordan Valley Oasis! This is the year it is about to get another facelift. They are bringing back into focus the beautiful Sycamore Tree that Zacchaeus climbed to get a better look at Jesus. We read about this encounter in the Gospels.

“And Jesus entered and passed through Jericho. And behold, there was a man named Zacchaeus, who was the chief among the tax collectors, and he was rich. And he sought to see Jesus … but could not because of the crowd, because he was of short stature. And he ran ahead and climbed up into a sycamore tree to see him: for he was to pass that way. And when Jesus came to the place, he looked up, and saw him, and said unto him, Zacchaeus, make haste, and come down; for today I must abide at thy house.” Luke 19:1-5

Jericho’s Sycamore Tree for years has been tucked away on a side street. Until 2010 it was kept out of the eyes of tourists. They came, took a picture, and left! But that has been changing. It has now become the main attraction of a museum complex. This complex opened in 2010 and each month sees new additions.  This is the birthday of Jericho and this ancient Sycamore Tree is about to be the star attraction.

Palestine is being promoted to the world as a place to come to. This mega venture also includes future plans for a major 5 Star Resort to be built on the banks of the Dead Sea. In the future, there is the hope of building a major airport in the area. The town is busy cleaning and painting. The yards are being cut and manicured. This magnificent Palestinian town is getting a facelift. It is getting ready for another mega birthday celebration. Happy Birthday, Jericho!

The road into Jericho has always been a country road, complete with potholes! Now it is a four-lane highway! Before there was an Israelite check-point going into the town. Now everyone comes and goes freely! This no longer slows down traffic and tourists are not deterred from coming. Things are happening and Jericho is sharing another one of her treasures with the world. Welcome her newest start attraction…. the Sycamore Tree.

The history of the Sycamore Tree in the area is on display in the new Museum. Local restaurants gear up for the added pilgrims that will be coming into the area. No longer is the tree that Zacchaeus climbed being regulated to the side street. The story of how Zacchaeus climbed the Sycamore Tree so he could see Jesus, is now being told to the world. This is another birthday celebration of the oldest town in the world, and Zacchaeus’ story and the tree he climbed, will be the center of attention. Palestine invites you to join them in Jericho, at the foot of….. the Sycamore Tree.

Jericho And The Ancient Sycamore Tree

Sycamore Tree Jericho

Within the Tel Jericho area complex zone there are several areas of interest and vendors who sell unique Palestinian handicrafts. Tel Jericho is an archaeological site in the northeastern area of Jericho also known as er-Riha, Yeriho, Tel es-Sultan, and Eriha. The tel mound is located today within the UNESCO World Heritage Site operated by the Palestinian Authority West Bank. The site is located in the Jordan Valley 10km north of the Dead Sea, and it is close to the Ein es-Sultan spring. The known term of the fountain of Elisha comes from Biblical reference and can be found close by. You will need special permission to view the very ancient well, and the town’s water supply.

Fountain Of Elisha In Jericho

The fountain of Elisha, an oasis in the midst of old Jericho, is beautiful and clear. As you near the spring, you notice it teeming with fish. This is where an immense volume of clear warm water flows. It is shaded by an ancient lone fig tree. In other places, you will see small waterways where the local people direct the water. In this way, the crops are watered to this day. In the above photo, we see this spring where it exits the ground at the pumping station. The pumping station protects this ancient flowing spring. It pumps fresh, clean water into modern Jericho. The fountain of Elisha is still sweet! You can see how crystal clear it is! These magnificent areas are located in Jericho, a city of palm trees from ancient times (Deuteronomy 34:3).

You can learn more by viewing this post: The Fountain of Elisha

“Jericho is believed to be one of the oldest cities in the world that has remained permanently inhabited from the 10th millennia BC. The site of Tel Jericho is identified with ancient Jericho which is mentioned in historical documents and the Bible. Today at the site visitors can see the excavated structures which once formed the core of Jericho city.

This area of Tel Jericho has a tremendous amount of information and areas of historical interest. If you would like to learn more about this area, and our time there you can read this recent post.

Middle East Adventure: Week One Jerusalem, Jericho, Sea of Galilee

The Trees In Ancient Israel

Yes, a long time ago it was part of that old empire. Today it is a part of the Palestinian Territory controlled by the Fatah faction of the Palestinian National Authority. Before it was of Ancient Israel it was even an early Canaan city with people living there 11,000 years ago or maybe even earlier. Jericho has been taken by many empires, and its geography has made it a jewel for every ancient empire to control. We are more interested in history and not modern-day politics. But yes we are aware of the sensitivity of the subject when used in modern terms. I would love to go back and do some research within the archaeology of this site and hope to one day be able to get the funding to do so.

Also, a further study into how this tree is perpetrated into the area if it can be known alongside the movement of the human race may shed a tremendous amount of research. It is the many forms of agriculture and their uses that have set the sycamore apart from other agriculture trees.

For informational on caring for your sycamore tree see this great article at gardening know-how Sycamore Tree Care

ExploreTraveler

ExploreTraveler

 

If you’re interested in learning more about sycamore trees from the Tel Jericho area, and/or from the area of Israel here are a few keywords you can search within Google for additional information.

 
 

Sycamore Tree In Ancient Israel

Citations:
  1. Softschools. “Sycamore Tree Facts.” Softschools.com, Softschools, www.softschools.com/facts/plants/sycamore_tree_facts/1209/.
Home » Sycamore Tree In Ancient Israel